Skip to main content

Business Resources : Find Articles

Gateway to business and related resources

What is a journal article?

Journals are similar to magazines in that they are published regularly (eg. monthly or quarterly)

Articles in journals are more in-depth and well-researched than magazine articles. They are written by experts in a particular field of study, and are based on the author's research.

Most of the library's journal articles are accessed electronically through the journal databases. However, the Shepard Library has a sizeable collection in print  located in the Serials Department ( 2nd Floor) and accessible through JOURNAL FINDER.

What are databases?

Journal databases are huge, searchable, up-to-date indexes of journal references.

They help you find journal articles that have been published on a topic.

If you have been asked to find scholarly articles for your assignment, you will need to search a database.

Recommended Databases for Business

  • ABI/INFORM (ProQuest) contains business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers. 
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) is a good starting point for research. It is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, including peer-reviewed journals.
  • Access World News - Business finds information on topics related to consumer issues, global economy, government and business and financial literacy.
  • Business Source Complete (EBSCO) is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.
  • IBISWorld provides a comprehensive and up-to-date collection of US Industry Research covering more than 700 Industries at the 5-digit NAICS codes
  • MarketLine Advantage 
    MarketLine Advantage is offering a comprehensive and unique collection of company, industry, financial, and country information extending across every major marketplace worldwide. MarketLine Advantage gives you access to our company focussed Case Studies, which offer concise evaluations of the latest innovative company strategies to help you quickly and easily understand what makes them successful. 
  • Mergent Online provides data on publicly-traded companies worldwide and some private companies; equity reports; industry reports, competitor analysis and more.
  • Nexis Uni is full text for a variety of types of information. Topics covered: news, company news & financial information, federal, state & international legal materials, medical & health information, and general information.
  • Business Databases
  • News and Current Affairs Databases
  • Journal Finder use to find out which journals/magazines the library has online or in print
  • ReferenceUSA  is the premier source of business and residential information for reference and research.
  • Simply Map is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data.
  • Statista It is a holistic and multidisciplinary database. Data aggregation and research platform covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics.
  • Vault Career Intelligence features industry and employer guides; company rankings and profiles; job and internship listings; networking tools; industry and career guides; resume and interview tips; career articles and blogs.

Other Resources

S&P Global NetAdvantageIncludes a broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including S&P Industry Surveys, Stock Reports (S&P Equity Research), and new "Markets" tab with drill downs to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, etc. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies.