Skip to main content

Biology: Databases

This guide will help you in your Biology Research

Biology Databases

Academic Search Complete
Coverage: Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subject areas from 1984 to present. Includes many complete articles from over 1,000 journals including 380 journals dating back to 1990.

Biological Abstracts via Ovid Silver Platter
Coverage: Provides comprehensive coverage of worldwide journal literature in the life sciences from 1995 to present. Subjects include anatomy, biochemistry, biophysics, botany, cell biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, human biology, microbiology, physiology, reproduction, and zoology

Biological Abstracts/Reports, Reviews, & Meetings
Coverage: Provides the same coverage as Biological Abstracts with bibliographic references to meeting papers, books and chapters, review articles, and U. S. patents.

Science Reference Center
Coverage: Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Includes many complete articles from 1990 to present.

Essential Science Indicators
Coverage: 1995-Present. Provides Internet access to a unique and comprehensive compilation of essential science performance statistics and science trends. The chief indicators of output, or productivity, are journal article publication counts.

PubMed
Coverage: Provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Science Citation Index Expanded via Web of Science
Coverage: A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1945 forward. Some of the disciplines covered include: Agriculture, Neuroscience, Biochemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Chemistry, Physics, and Mathematics.

ScienceDirect via Elsevier Science
Coverage: Provides scientific, technical and medical (STN) research that offers access to more than 1,100 journals across sixteen fields of science, including the social sciences.