LibGuides: Public Administration: Find Articles

What is a journal article?

Journals are similar to magazines in that they are published regularly (eg. monthly or quarterly).

Articles in journals are more in-depth and well-researched than magazine articles. They are written by experts in a particular field of study, and are based on the author's research.

Most of the library's journal articles are accessed electronically through the journal databases. However, Shepard Library has a sizeable collection in print located in the Serials Department and searchable through JOURNAL FINDER.

What is a database?

Journal databases are huge, searchable, up-to-date indexes of journal references.

They help you to find journal articles that have been published on a topic.

If you have been asked to find scholarly articles for your assignment, you will need to search a database.

Recommended Databases for Public Administration

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This business resource exceeds all other databases available in terms of its premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Included as part of the comprehensive coverage offered by Business Source Complete are indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals. It is the overwhelmingly superior database for full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
CQ Politics in America This link opens in a new window
It is an essential resource for any collection that serves readers who want authoritative information on the members of the 110th Congress. The profiles of the 535 members plus the delegates offer concise and candid analysis of personalities, political styles, legislative agendas, political ambitions, and reputations of members at home and on Capitol Hill. Detailed state and district information plus a wealth of information and data on campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees, and other member facts round out the book.
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
CQ Press Library provides search to over 3,000 journals, magazines and newspapers articles on current and controversial issues.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications, and news weeklies. Military & Government Collection includes abstracts and indexing for nearly 400 titles providing cover to cover full text for nearly 350. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets.
Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
It includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX™ with Full Text provides the same comprehensive indexing and abstracts as SocINDEX™, as well as full text for 241 "core" journals dating as far back as 1895, and full text coverage of 72 "priority" journals. This database also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.
Web News This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Web News provides near real-time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe. This collection includes over 14,000 feeds covering a range of business and general news topics. End users can immediately access the full text of the web content, by following the link in the record.

Recommended Multidisciplinary Databases for Public Administration

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Includes over 2 million master's theses and dissertations, with over 60,000 titles added every year. It's a great resource for researchers in a large variety of fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of over hundred full text scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Does not include issues from recent volumes usually the last 2-5 years.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides scientific, technical and medical (STN) research that offers more than 1,100 journals across sixteen fields of science, including the social sciences.

Subject Guide

Shepard Library