LibGuides: Public Administration: Government Documents

Explore the Census in Schools Web site to learn about the importance of census data and how it can help you learn about your world. Visit the Materials for Schools section to get lesson plans, maps, teaching guides, and other informational materials to help teachers and students learn about the importance of the Census.

North Carolina Census 2020

2020 Census information about NC. Created by the NC State Data Center and the NC Office of State Budget and Management.

Databases

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

The Catalog is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

Congress.gov

United States Congress legislation, Congressional Record debates, Members of Congress, legislative process educational resources presented by the Library of Congress.

Govinfo

Govinfo is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides online search of a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from govinfo can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. This service is funded by the Federal Depository Library Program and has grown out of Public Law 103-40, known as the Government Printing Office Electronic Information Enhancement Act of 1993.

United States Government Manual (1995--present)

As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the United States Constitution.

Homeland Security Resources

Homeland Security covers emergency preparedness that includes police management, medical volunteers and fire staff, and intelligence activities conducted nationally and abroad, mostly covered by the FBI. It also covers infrastructure protection and perimeter protection that entails protecting our country, bridges, monuments and large buildings. It covers border security including land, water and air. It also covers transportation security including airlines and water transportation. Bio-defense is also included. This may include defending the United States country biohazards. Detecting radioactive material in the atmosphere is also covered. Of course, continued research into future security technologies is covered in the scope of Homeland Security.

Additional Databases

CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
The acclaimed source for the best coverage and analysis of U.S. congressional legislation from 1945 to today is now available in a powerful, easy-to-navigate online edition. CQ Almanac is renowned for its in-depth analysis of the path legislation takes through Congress, including how bills are changed, derailed, or ultimately passed during an annual session of Congress.
CQ Historic Documents This link opens in a new window
It contains more than 32,000 print pages since 1972—provides rich depth of content and an ever-expanding area of coverage. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
CQ Politics in America This link opens in a new window
It is an essential resource for any collection that serves readers who want authoritative information on the members of the 110th Congress. The profiles of the 535 members plus the delegates offer concise and candid analysis of personalities, political styles, legislative agendas, political ambitions, and reputations of members at home and on Capitol Hill. Detailed state and district information plus a wealth of information and data on campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees, and other member facts round out the book.
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
CQ Press Library provides search to over 3,000 journals, magazines and newspapers articles on current and controversial issues.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world. Each 12,000-word report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Published 44 times a year, CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
CQ Supreme Court Yearbook This link opens in a new window
The CQ Supreme Court Yearbook provides valuable in-depth coverage on every decision of the nation's highest court since 1989. It offers:
Year-end overviews of Supreme Court terms from 1989-2005
Case summaries of every opinion written during each court term
Essays on the most significant cases from each year and the trends in each term
Useful tables and figures on voting patterns and constitutional law
Supreme Court Yearbook Series Online Edition features easy-to-use search and browse functions that make navigation fast and simple
CQ Washington Information Directory This link opens in a new window
WID is the essential one-stop source for information on U.S. governmental and non-governmental organizations.It provides capsule descriptions that help users quickly and easily find the right person at the right organization. WID provides contact information for:
Congress and federal agencies
Governors and other state officials
U.S. and foreign diplomats