Public Health Resources at Shepard Library

Created by the federal Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, this is an excellent collection of resources about health literacy.

An incredibly helpful site created by the Harvard School of Public Health. Provides many links to research, policy reports and a wealth of practical assessment tools. Almost everything is full text.

A 2005 publication of the Covering Kids and Families initiative that provides guidelines for producing improved patient materials.

Economic data

This site is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. It provides data by country on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and other key health and socio-economic indicators.

This agency is the principal source of health statistics for the United States.

Provides a comprehensive collection of NC health statistics.

Federal agency charged with protecting the health and safety of Americans.

CDC’s Wonder (Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research) is designed to simplify access to CDC’s public health reports and data systems.

A “how-to” manual for developing effective public health programs in communities.

Details the process for health assessment in North Carolina and provides excellent additional information.

Created by Harvard University Library’s Open Collection Program, this site provides information on worldwide diseases and epidemics, organized by significant episodes of major outbreaks.

Created by the North Carolina Community Health Assessment Initiative, this site provides extensive data for use in developing community assessments.

This site reviews news stories that make therapeutic claims. The journalists and medical professionals behind the site strive to increase accuracy and help consumers evaluate news about health care.

This statewide network of local partnerships addresses health and safety issues at the community level. Contains excellent information, including community health assessments of each North Carolina county.

This site describes a comprehensive set of disease prevention and health promotion objectives developed through the collaboration of numerous scientists in both government and non-government organizations.

Weekly disease and death reports sent by state health departments to the CDC.

This agency focuses on prevention of illness and promotion of a healthy environment

This organization describes itself as “the primary federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research.” Their Web site offers a wide array of information.

This division of CDC focuses on the prevention of accidents and illness in the workplace.

Part of the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services, OMH focuses on eliminating health disparities for racial and ethnic minorities.

Similar in mission to the OMH site referenced above, OMHD is based within the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

This site helps public health workers find and use information effectively.

An excellent site compiled by the National Library of Medicine with comprehensive links to information about specialized disaster preparedness.

This federal agency focuses on recovery from mental or substance abuse disorders.

The Surgeon General is the chief health educator for the United States. The site provides excellent reports and resources on national public health priorities.

This is the principal federal agency for protecting the health of Americans. This agency oversees the work of numerous other federal health organizations, including NIH, CDC and FDA to name a few.

This site serves as a portal to health activities being undertaken by various United States government agencies.