Skip to main content

Political Science: Primary Reference Sources

Journals & Magazines

 

About Journal Finder

Journal Finder is an integrated search interface that allows you to determine if the library provides electronic access, to find out if the library owns a print copy, to find out which other libraries may have print copies, and to order copies of articles that can be sent directly to you. 

NCCU Theses

The library maintains a collection of theses written by NCCU students. Theses are kept in the Treasure Room and Reference Department they can be accessed by requesting a thesis at the reference desk. You can search for a thesis in the library catalog.

Local Sources

Shepard Library maintains a vertical file (file cabinets with newspaper clippings, brochures and other primary documents) about NCCU and Durham, which located in the Reference Department on the 2nd floor. Please ask a librarian for assistance!

Newspapers

This is a selection of currently received newspapers available in Shepard Library. Received newspapers and print indexes are located in the serials section of the library. The serials department also maintains a collection of currently received newsletters plus microfilm/microfiche of newspaper back issues and some newspapers that are not received in print.

Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Atlanta Daily World
Carolina Times
Charlotte Observer
Federal Times
Herald-Sun (Durham)
New York Times
News & Observer (Raleigh)
News & Record (Greensboro)
USA Today
Washington Post
Wall Street Journal
Wilmington Journal

Newspaper indexes available at Shepard Library

Black Newspapers Index
Durham Morning Herald/Durham Sun Index
New York Times Index
Wall Street Journal Index
Washington Post Index

Electronic Newspaper Access (requires Web VPN)

You can also use Journal Finder to look up newspaper titles that the library carries in print and electronically.

Access via NCCU only Global NewsBank via NewsBank
Coverage: News articles covering politics, economics, culture, business, science, technology, and the environment from Africa, Asia, Europe, the former Soviet Union, the Pacific Rim, Central and South America, and the Middle East. All articles are in English and are from over 1000 translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, wire services, newspapers, magazines and government documents. Coverage is from 1996 to present.

Access via NCCU only Nexis Uni via LexisNexis
Coverage: It contains case law from the federal courts and all 50 states, as well as current statutory and regulatory codes, law reviews and journals, news resources, and company information.

Access via NCCU only NewsBank NewsFile Collection via NewsBank
Coverage: News articles covering social, economic, environmental, government, sports, the arts, people, health and science issues and events from more than 500 U.S. regional and national newspapers, wire services, and broadcasts. 1992-- present.

nclive logo News and Observer Index [Raleigh] via ProQuest Company
Coverage: Covers North Carolina and the world. Indexes articles from 1995 to present. Includes a few complete articles from 1988 to 1994 and most articles from 1995 to present.

nclive logo ProQuest Newspapers via ProQuest
Coverage: Includes all of North Carolina Newsstand and many full text articles from: Christian Science Monitor (1988 to present), Los Angeles Times (1985 to present), New York Times (1980 to present), Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), The Washington Post (1987 to present).

Government Documents

US Federal Government Resources Off Site

Provides a uniform system for making regulations and legal notices issued by Federal Agencies, including Presidential proclamations and Executive Orders, Federal agency documents having general applicability and legal effect, documents required to be published by Act of Congress and other Federal agency documents of public interest.

The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities.

THOMAS was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress. The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public. The link also provides access to many other resources at the Library of Congress.

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

US State & Local Government Off Site

International Information Off Site