Skip to main content

Physical Education and Recreation: Databases

Available Databases

 

nclive logo Academic Search Premier via EBSCOhost
Coverage: Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subject areas from 1984 to present. Includes many complete articles from over 1,000 journals including 380 journals dating back to 1990.

NCCU Seal Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) via ProQuest

Coverage: Includes over 2 million master's theses and dissertations, with over 60,000 titles added every year. It's a great resource for researchers in a wide variety of fields.

 

NCCU Seal Infotrac Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection via Gale  
Coverage: This predominantly full-text collection includes over 60 titles in the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Topics include proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.

Access via NCCU only SIRS Knowledge Source via Social Issues Resource Series, Inc.
Coverage: Full text searchable database of many subjects including the sciences, medicine, business and economics, government, international studies, African American studies. Coverage: 1989 - present.

NCCU SealSPORTDiscus via EBSCOhost

Coverage: Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains well over 1,200,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.

Access via NCCU only Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge  
Coverage:
ISI Web of Science consists of five high-quality databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals in all areas of research: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Available Databases

NCCU Seal Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) via ProQuest  
Coverage: 
Includes over 2 million master's theses and dissertations, with over 60,000 titles added every year. It's a great resource for researchers in a wide variety of fields.

NCCU Seal Infotrac Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection via Gale  
Coverage: This predominantly full-text collection includes over 60 titles in the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Topics include proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.

nclive logo ProQuest Family Health via NC LIVE
Coverage: Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.

Access via NCCU only SIRS Knowledge Source via Social Issues Resource Series, Inc.
Coverage: Full text searchable database of many subjects including the sciences, medicine, business and economics, government, international studies, African American studies. Coverage: 1989 - present.

NCCU SealSPORTDiscus via EBSCOhost

Coverage: Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains well over 1,200,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.

Access via NCCU only Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Coverage:
ISI Web of Science consists of five high-quality databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals in all areas of research: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Human Sciences Subject Guide