Skip to main content

Biotechnology & Pharmaceutical: Databases

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Coverage: Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subject areas from 1984 to present. Includes many complete articles from over 1,000 journals including 380 journals dating back to 1990.

Biological Abstracts via Ovid
Coverage: Provides comprehensive coverage of worldwide journal literature in the life sciences from 1995 to present. Subjects include anatomy, biochemistry, biophysics, botany, cell biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, human biology, microbiology, physiology, reproduction, and zoology.

Biological Abstracts/Reports, Reviews, & Meetings (BA/RRM)
Coverage: Provides the same coverage as Biological Abstracts with bibliographic references to meeting papers, books and chapters, review articles, and U. S. patents.

CAB Abstracts
Coverage: ISI CAB Abstracts provides authoritative research information on agriculture, environment and all related applied science disciplines. It use CAB Thesaurus, CABICODES and CAB Registry Numbers. It explore data from journals, books, proceedings, monographs, technical reports, and more. Its backfiles available to 1910.

CINHAL w/Full Text Coverage: Indexes articles appearing in 900 journals in 13 allied health disciplines, including nursing. Covers 1982 to present.

Current Contents Connect via Web of Knowledge
Coverage: 1998 to the present. It covers agriculture, behavioral sciences, clinical medicine, life sciences, computer, technology, electronics, engineering and art & humanities.

Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) via ProQuest
Coverage: Includes over 2 million master's theses and dissertations, with over 60,000 titles added every year. It's a great resource for researchers in a wide variety of fields.

Essential Science Indicators via ISI Web of Knowledge
Coverage: 1995-Present. Provides Internet access to a unique and comprehensive compilation of essential science performance statistics and science trends. The chief indicators of output, or productivity, are journal article publication counts

Food Science and Technology Abstracts via ISI Web of Knowledge
Coverage: 1969 to present. A source of information on food science, food technology, and human nutrition for professionals working in the food sector at all stages of the food manufacturing cycle. It includes Journals books, conference proceedings, reports, theses, patents and legislation.

GeoScienceWorld via CSA
Coverage:A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef. GSW is a nonprofit corporation formed by a group of leading geoscientific organizations for the purpose of making geoscience research and related information easily and economically available via the Internet. GSW is an unprecedented collaboration of six leading earth science societies and one institute.

Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge 

Coverage: Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.

Journals@Ovid
Coverage: Includes over 45 essential and highly cited scientific, technical, and medical journals.

Physics Today via Scitation
Coverage: Physics Today is your daily physics news and research source. It keeps its readers informed about science and its place in the world with authoritative feature articles, news stories, and analyses, as well as by providing a lively forum for the exchange of ideas.

PubMed via National Library of Medicine
Coverage: Provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Science Citation Index Expanded via Web of Science.
Coverage: Abstracts of major and minor sources in Biology, Chemistry, Life Sciences, Physics and general science. May also conduct a cited reference search.

ScienceDirect via Elsevier Science.
Coverage: Provides scientific, technical and medical (STN) research that offers access to more than 1,100 journals across sixteen fields of science, including the social sciences.

SIRS Knowledge Source via Social Issues Resource Series, Inc.
Coverage: Full text searchable database of many subjects including the sciences, medicine, business and economics, government, international studies, African American studies. Coverage: 1989 - present.

Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Coverage: Web of Science consists of five high-quality databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals in all areas of research: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.