LibGuides: Psychology: Electronic Reference Sources

Reference Databases

These databases provide overviews on topics within psychology and mental health, statistics, and other reference information.

CQ Researcher Online
Coverage: The CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world. Each 12,000-word report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Published 44 times a year, CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Credo Reference
Credo covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. It provides online versions of 490+ published reference works from over 70 publishers, including general and specialist dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Use the search function, or click on "Find a Book," then "Psychology" to access Psychology sources.

Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Includes over 2 million master's theses and dissertations, with over 60,000 titles added every year. It's a great resource for researchers in a large variety of fields.
Gale OneFile - Psychology This link opens in a new window
It supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Coverage: Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials are accessible online from the library or remotely 24/7.

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Coverage: MEDLINEplus has extensive information for health professionals and consumers from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on hundreds of diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.

National Institute of Mental Health
Coverage: Symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of various mental illnesses. Included are brochures and information sheets, reports, press releases, and fact sheets.
North Carolina Public Health
Coverage: Provides a site covering a wide range of programs and services, all aimed toward protecting and improving the health of the people who live and work in North Carolina. Includes information such as fish consumption advisories, ozone levels, pfisteria health precautions, links to local health departments, how to get birth certificates, etc.

PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
This database is from the American Psychological Association. It is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation, and from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present.
PsycINFO via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Ninety-nine percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.

ProQuest Psychology Journals
Coverage: Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
ProQuest Research Library
Coverage: General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.

Psychotherapy.net Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Coverage: It features a rich and diverse compilation of high quality training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, and addiction. They cover a wide range of modalities and theoretical orientations, with the majority of the videos showing therapists conducting single or multiple-session demonstrations, or clinical case consultations.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States. We provide thousands of interactive data maps going back to 1790.
StatBank This link opens in a new window
Statistics covering topics related to demographics, voting, environment, health, employment and social issues for all 50 U.S. states and over 200 countries of the world compiled from more than 350 government agencies, associations, and organizations. Graphs are available for some topics. Use for tracking trends and numeric reporting of current issues and events.
State Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
Coverage: SCHS is responsible for data collection and research, production of reports, and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics. They have published a wide variety of reports in the past and are in the process of adding them to their Web site.
Statista This link opens in a new window
It is a holistic and multidisciplinary database. Data aggregation and research platform covering many markets, industries, and societal topics.