Skip to main content

Education: Periodicals for Classroom Use

This guide will help you become familiar with the resources available at the Curriculum Materials Center in the School of Education Building.

Periodicals for Classroom Use

Ladybug
For children ages two to six, includes stories, poems, songs, games and adventures; also includes a separate activity insert of things to do and a parent's guide.

Cobblestone
For ages 8-13, each issue focuses on one theme in history.

Click
Children's magazine of science and exploration.

Scholastic News

National Geographic Kids
Magazine about world culture, crafts, and nature for children ages 8-14.

Humpty Dumpty's Magazine
For younger elementary school children, contains fiction, poetry, puzzles, games, posters, safety hints, contests, and question and answer columns.

Fun for Kidz
Theme-based magazine for kids promoting problem solving, includes: puzzles, fiction, informational articles, and poems.

Cricket
Award winning literary magazine for children ages 6- 14.

Jack & Jill
For children ages seven to ten. Emphasis on: good health, nutrition, and safety plus stories, science articles, crafts, games, poetry, humor and more to stimulate young minds and imaginations.

Faces: people, places, & cultures
Children's anthropology magazine of thematic issues, including stories, games, book reviews and puzzles.  Themes include: Egypt, India, and the Middle East.  Published with the cooperation of the American Museum of Natural History.

Scholastic Action
Target audience: teens from grades 7-12 with a grade 3-5 reading level: Designed for reluctant readers.

Read
Literacy & Literacy Education; Literature & Writing; Teen Interest

Scholastic Scope
Language arts teaching resource with focus on: teen-oriented nonfiction, classics, skills and contemporary and multicultural young-adult literature.

New York Times Upfront
News magazine for teens.

TeenInk
Teenagers' publish their opinions and creative work.

Calliope
Thematic issues on an aspect of world history for young people, includes: fiction, poetry and activities.

Cicada
This magazine for teenagers features fiction & poetry.

National Geographic Explorer
Science magazine for grades two through six.

National Geographic World
Magazine about world culture, crafts, and nature for children ages 8-14.

New Moon Girls
Magazine for pre-teen and early adolescent girls, promoting positive images for girls.

Ranger Rick
Nature magazine for elementary school readers.

Skipping Stones
Children's magazine encouraging cooperation, creativity, and celebration of cultural diversity.  Provides opportunity for children of diverse backgrounds to share different ideas and experiences.

Spider: the magazine for children
For children ages six through nine, contains short stories, poems, activities and games.

Stone Soup
For children ages 8 to thirteen, contains stories, poems, book reviews written by children.

Que Tal?
Magazine for first-year Spanish students.

Logging in from off campus?

WebVPN

For best results when searching databases and journals accessible through Shepard Library when off campus, log into WebVPN first.  Just enter your NCCU username and password and then select the library's home page from the list that appears.

How to Access WebVPN (tutorial)

WebVPN