Skip to main content

Government Documents: Branches of the Government

Legislative Branch

Congress is the legislative branch of the federal government. It consists of the House of Representatives and the Senate. The House has 435 voting members, each one representing a congressional district, and 5 non-voting members, 1 each from the District of Columbia, Guam, the Virgin Islands, American Samoa, and 1 resident commissioner. The Senate has 100 members, 2 from each of the 50 states. The consent of both chambers is required to pass any legislation, which then may only become law by being signed by the President; if the President vetoes such legislation, however, both houses of Congress must then re-pass the legislation, but by a two-thirds majority of each.

Judicial Branch

The judicial branch of the U.S. government is made up of the court system, with the Supreme Court as the highest court whose members are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

·     Federal Judicial Center

·     FindLaw

·     History of the Federal Judiciary

·     LLRX (Law Library Resources  Exchange)

·     Supreme Court Opinions

·     United States Reports

·     Guide to Law Online