Skip to main content

African American Literature: New Titles in Reference

A beginner's guide to African American Literature resources in the James E. Shepard Memorial Library

Recent Acquisitions in Reference

African American theater buildings : an illustrated historical directory, 1900-1955

                REF PN2270 .A35 S58 2011     

---------------------------------------

Encyclopedia of African American history

                REF E185 .E544 2010

---------------------------------------

Places for the spirit : traditional African American gardens

            REF SB457.527 .S55 2010     

---------------------------------------

African Americans in the military

            REF U52 .R42 2010      (Reference)      Available

---------------------------------------

Black America : a state-by-state historical encyclopedia

            REF E185 .B537 2011 VOL

---------------------------------------

Historically Black colleges and universities : an encyclopedia

            REF LC2781 .B755 2011     

---------------------------------------

World of a slave : encyclopedia of the material life of slaves in the United States

            REF E441 .W895 2011

---------------------------------------

Writers of the Black Chicago renaissance

            REF PS285 .C47 W75 2011     

---------------------------------------

African American religious cultures

            REF BL2500 .A37 2009

---------------------------------------

Black America : a photographic journey

            REF E185 .S5815 2009    

---------------------------------------

The Black book

            REF E185 .B56 2009    

---------------------------------------

Encyclopedia of African American artists

            REF N6538 .N5 J44 2009     

 

 

Encyclopedia of African American history, 1896 to the present : from the age of segregation to the twenty-first century          

 REF E185.E5453

---------------------------------------

Voices of the African American experience

            REF E184.6 .V65 2009

---------------------------------------

Black authors & published writers directory 2008/2009

            REF Z1229.N39 B59 2008     

---------------------------------------

Encyclopedia of the African diaspora : origins, experiences, and culture

            REF DT16.5 .E53 2008

---------------------------------------

100 most popular African American authors : biographical sketches and bibliographies

            REF  PS153 .N5 D74 2007      (Reference)      Available

---------------------------------------

The Black woman's guide to Black men's health

            REF RA777.8 .C63 2007    

---------------------------------------

Encyclopedia of African American women writers

            REF PS153 .N5 E49 2007

---------------------------------------

Encyclopedia of American race riots

            REF E184 .A1 E573 2007

---------------------------------------

Encyclopedia of antislavery and abolition

            REF HT1031 .E53 2007  

---------------------------------------

Encyclopedia of emancipation and abolition in the Transatlantic world

            REF HT985 .E53 2007

---------------------------------------

Encyclopedia of slave resistance and rebellion

            REF E447 .E53

---------------------------------------

Notable Black American men. Book II

            E185.86 .N68 BK.2

---------------------------------------

African American history

            REF E185 .A25355 2006