Skip to main content

Research on Demand: Find Articles by Topics

Learn how to select efficient and effective resources for accessing information needed from appropriate information retrieval systems. This LibGuide was created for the 4th annual Hear the C.A.L.L. Conference at North Carolina Central (2012).

How to decide between Scholarly vs. Popular...

Athletic Training

Academic Search Complete

Coverage: Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subject areas from 1984 to present. Includes many complete articles from over 1,000 journals including 380 journals dating back to 1990.

 

SPORTDiscus

Coverage: Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains well over 1,200,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.

 

Web of Science

Coverage: ISI Web of Science consists of five high-quality databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals in all areas of research: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

PubMed

Coverage: A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

 

Health Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection

Coverage: Social studies of health, public policy, health services & administration, health education, community/public health nursing. 1982-Current.


 

State Center for Health Statistics 

Coverage: SCHS is responsible for data collection and research, production of reports, and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of North Carolina health statistics.

 

Ethical Use of Information

What is Plagiarism?

Deliberate plagiarism is copying the work of others and turning it in as your own. Whether you copy from a published essay, an encyclopedia article, or a paper from a fraternity's files, you are plagiarizing. If you do so, you run a terrible risk. You could be punished, suspended, or even expelled. In other words, plagiarism is an act of fraud. It involves both stealing someone else's work and lying about it afterward.

 

All of the following are considered plagiarism:

.Turning in someone else's work as your own

·Copying words or ideas from someone else without giving credit

·Failing to put a quotation in quotation marks

·Giving incorrect information about the source of a quotation

·Changing words but copying the sentence structure of a source without giving credit 

 

But can words and ideas really be stolen?

According to U.S. law, the answer is yes. The expression of original ideas is considered

intellectual property, and is protected by copyright laws, just like original inventions. Almost all forms of expression fall under copyright protection as long as they are recorded in some way (such as a book or a computer file).

 

Why should you use citations?

. To give credit to the sources you’ve used

· To enable others to find the same sources you’ve used

· To be part of the "scholarly conversation"