This is the "Home" page of the "Biotechnology & Pharmaceutical" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biotechnology & Pharmaceutical  

Last Updated: Dec 2, 2014 URL: http://shepard.libguides.nccu.edu/content.php?pid=169104 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

This guide lists specialized resources for industry and market research in the biotechnology, pharmaceutical, and biomedical industries.

 

Your Recommendations

Feel free to review and recommend additional online resources for biotechnology or pharmaceutical science

Contact Library Laison

David Rachlin

 

QR Code for Biotechnology & Pharmaceutical

 

Biotechnology & Pharmaceutical

This guide lists specialized resources for industry and market research in the biotechnology, pharmaceutical, and biomedical industries.

Articles from research journals, news archives, trade and technical publications.

Companies, Deals, Alliances:

Company profiles, data on alliances & deal-making activity.

Industry Overviews:

Surveys of industry trends, current environment, logistics.

Market Analysis:

Market research reports; statistics on health care, costs, utilization.

Regulation & Policy:

Information on public policy, regulatory activity & litigation.

Research & Development:

Statistics on clinical trials, patents, R&D in the  United States.

Law, Regulation, Policy

Academic Search Complete EBSCOhost via NC LIVE

Coverage: Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subject areas from 1984 to present. Includes many complete articles from over 1,000 journals including 380 journals dating back to 1990.

Biological Abstracts

via Ovid

Coverage: Provides comprehensive coverage of worldwide journal literature in the life sciences from 1995 to present. Subjects include anatomy, biochemistry, biophysics, botany, cell biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, human biology, microbiology, physiology, reproduction, and zoology.

Biological Abstracts/Reports, Reviews, & Meetings (BA/RRM) via Ovid

Coverage: Provides the same coverage as Biological Abstracts with bibliographic references to meeting papers, books and chapters, review articles, and U. S. patents.

CAB Abstracts via Institute for Scientific Information

Coverage: ISI CAB Abstracts provides authoritative research information on agriculture, environment and all related applied science disciplines. It use CAB Thesaurus, CABICODES and CAB Registry Numbers. It explore data from journals, books, proceedings, monographs, technical reports, and more. Its backfiles available to 1910.

CINHAL w/Full Text via EBSCOhost via NC LIVE

Coverage: Indexes articles appearing in 900 journals in 13 allied health disciplines, including nursing. Covers 1982 to present.

Current Contents Connect via Web of Knowledge

Coverage: 1998 to the present. It covers agriculture, behavioral sciences, clinical medicine, life sciences, computer, technology, electronics, engineering and art & humanities.

Essential Science Indicators via ISI Web of Knowledge

Coverage: 1995-Present. Provides Internet access to a unique and comprehensive compilation of essential science performance statistics and science trends. The chief indicators of output, or productivity, are journal article publication counts.

EBSCO Encyclopedia of Animals EBSCOhost via NC LIVE

Coverage: Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Includes many complete articles from 1990 to present.

Food Science and Technology Abstracts via ISI Web of Knowledge

Coverage: 1969 to present. A source of information on food science, food technology, and human nutrition for professionals working in the food sector at all stages of the food manufacturing cycle. It includes Journals books, conference proceedings, reports, theses, patents and legislation.

GeoScienceWorld via CSA

Coverage: A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef. GSW is a nonprofit corporation formed by a group of leading geoscientific organizations for the purpose of making geoscience research and related information easily and economically available via the Internet.  GSW is an unprecedented collaboration of six leading earth science societies and one institute.

Infotrac General Science Collection via Gale

Coverage: Composed of nearly 300 predominantly full-text academic journals and general science-focused magazines, this collection provides coverage of all scientific endeavor, including particle physics, quantum theory, advanced mathematics, and biotechnology.

Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge

Coverage: Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.

Journals@Ovid via Ovid

Coverage: Includes over 45 essential and highly cited scientific, technical, and medical journals.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) via ProQuest

Coverage: Includes over 2 million master's theses and dissertations, with over 60,000 titles added every year. It's a great resource for researchers in a wide variety of fields.

PubMed via National Library of Medicine

Coverage: Provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

ScienceDirect via Elsevier Science.

Coverage: Provides scientific, technical and medical (STN) research that offers access to more than 1,100 journals across sixteen fields of science, including the social sciences.

SIRS Knowledge Source via Social Issues Resource Series, Inc.

Coverage: Full text searchable database of many subjects including the sciences, medicine, business and economics, government, international studies, African American studies. Coverage: 1989 - present.

Science Reference Center via EBSCOhost

Coverage: A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science- oriented content. Designed for science students, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also provides teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.

Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge

Coverage: Consists of five high-quality databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals in all areas of research:

  • Science Citation Index Expanded
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science

Subject Guide

Profile Image
David Rachlin
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Contact the Library

Shepard Library Hours

Monday - Thursday
7:30am - 2:00am

Friday

7:30am - 5:00pm

Saturday
8:00am - 5:00pm

Sunday
2:00pm - 2:00am

Restricted Hours: NCCU Faculty, Staff & Students ONLY
11:00pm - 2:00am

Holiday and Intersession Schedules

If visiting is not an option, contacting a librarian is as easy as sending an email, typing up a chat or picking up the phone!

Phone Numbers

Circulation Desk
(919) 530-6426

Reference Desk
(919) 530-6473

Email


Chat


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip