Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Genre Resources

Genre Resources

Ethnomusicology

Ethnomusicology. New York: London: W.W. Norton, 1992. [ML3798.E82 v.1-v2]

Ethnomusicology: A Guide to Research. New York: Routledge, 2004. [ML128.E8 P67]

The Music of the Other: New Challenges for Ethnomusicology in a Global Age. Aldershot, England; Burlington, VT: Ashgate, 2007. [ML3798.A8313 2007]

 

 

 

Pioneers of Ethnomusicology. Coral Springs, FL: Llumina Press, 2006. [Ref ML403.M393 2006]

 

Shadows in the Field: New Perspectives for Fieldwork in Ethnomusicology. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. [ML3799.S5 2008]

 

Theory for Ethnomusicology. Upper Saddle, N.J. : Pearson Prentice Hall, 2008. [ML3798.S76 2008]

 

 

 

Folk Music Resources


Dictionary of American Pop/Rock: rock, pop, rhythm & blues, folk, country, blues, gospel, jazz, films, musical theater, recording, & music business. New York: Collier Macmillan Publishing Company, 1982. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .P66 S5]

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. New York: Garland Publishing, 2002. [MUSIC Ref. ML100 .G16]

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. New York: Grove Dictionaries Inc., 2001. [MUSIC Ref. ML100 .N48 2001]

 Performing Ethnomusicology: Teaching and Representation in World Music ensembles. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2004. [ML3798.P47 2004]



Jazz Music Resources

Biographical Dictionary of Jazz. New Jersey: Prentice-Hall, 1982. [MUSIC Ref. ML390 .C59]

The Encyclopedia of Jazz in the Seventies. New York: Horizon Press, 1976. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .F35 E7]

The Encyclopedia of Jazz in the Sixties. New York: Horizon, 1966. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .F35 E6]

Goldmine’s Price Guide to Collectible Jazz Albums 1949-1969. Wisconsin: Krause Publications, 1994. [MUSIC Ref. ML156.4 .J3 U4 1994]

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Jazz. New York: Harmony Books, 1978. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .J3 C34]

Jazz, A Photo History. New York: Schirmer Books, 1978. [MUSIC Ref. ML3506 .B4173]

Jazz and Blues Lover’s Guide to the U.S. Maryland: Addison Wesley Publishing Company, 1994. [MUSIC Ref. ML3508 .B57 1994]

The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. New York: Macmillan Publishers Limited, 2002. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .J3 N48 2002]

Talking Jazz: An Illustrated Oral History. California: Pomegranate Artbooks, 1992. [MUSIC Ref. ML394 .S52 1992]

Who’s Who of Jazz: Storyville to Swing Street. Pennsylvania: Chilton Book Company, 1972. [MUSIC Ref. ML106 .U3 C5]

 

Music Education

Dictionary of Music Education: A Handbook of Terminology. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2005. [MT1.E49 2005]

Exploring Research in Music Education and Music Therapy. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. [MT1.P5116 2008]

A Guide to Research in Music Education. New Jersey: Scarecrow, 1993. [MUSIC Ref. MT1 .P5 1992]

Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning. New York: Schirmer Books, 1992. [MUSIC Ref. MT1 .H138 1992]

A History of American Music Education. Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield Education, 2007. [MT3.U5 M325

Introduction to Music Education. Long Grove, Ill. : Waveland Press, 2009. [MT.H723 2009]

Music Education, and Multiculturalism: Foundations and Principles. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998. [MUSIC Ref. MT4 V65 1998]

 



Music Industry

All You Need to Know About the Music Business. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1997. [MUSIC RESERVE ML3790 .P35 1997]

The Dictionary of Music Business Terms. California: MixBooks, 1998. [MUSIC Ref. KF4290 .W52]

More About This Business of Music. New York: Billboard Books, 1994. [MUSIC RESERVE ML3790 .K72 1994]

Music, Money, and Success: the Insider’s Guide to the Music Industry. New York: Schirmer Books, 1994. [MUSIC Ref. ML3790 .B72 1994]

The Musician’s Business & Legal Guide. New Jersey: Prentice-Hall, 2001. [MUSIC Ref. ML3790 .M84 2001]

The Performing Arts Business Encyclopedia. New York: Allworth Press, 1996. [MUSIC Ref. KF4290 .A68 D8 1996]

Popular Music Resources

American Popular Music: A Reference Guide. Connecticut: Greenwood Press, 1983. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .P66 B65]

The Big Band Almanac. New York: Da Capo Press, 1989. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .B5 W34 1989]

The Complete Encyclopedia of Popular Music and Jazz 1900-1950. New York: Arlington House Publisher, 1974. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .P66 K55 ]

Encyclopedia of Pop, Rock and Soul. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 1989. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .P66 S7 1989.]

Encyclopedia of Rock. New York: MacDonald & Company, 1987. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .R6 E5 1988]

From Swing to Soul: An Illustrated History of African American Popular Music from 1930 to 1960. District of Columbia: Ellington & Clark Publishing, 1994. [MUSIC Ref. ML3479 .B37 1994]

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. New York: Garland Publishers, 1998. [MUSIC Ref. ML100 .G16]

The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music. New York: Stockton Press, 1995. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .P66 G84 1995]

The Oxford Companion to Popular Music. New York: Oxford University Press, 1991. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .P66 G35 1991]

Rock Movers & Shakers. New York: Billboards Books, 1991. [MUSIC Ref. ML394 .R43 1991.]

The Rolling Stone Illustrated History of Rock & Roll. New York: Random House, 1976. [MUSIC Ref. ML3561 .R62]

Soul Music A-Z. New York: Da Capo Press, 1995. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .S65 G7 1995]

Soul Music: Who’s Who. California: Prima Publishing, 1992. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .S65 T43 1992]

Stars of Soul and Rhythm & Blues. New York: Billboard Books, 1994. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .S65 H55 1994]

 



Sacred Music

Catalogue of Choral Music Arranged in Biblical Order. Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 1996. [MUSIC Ref. ML128 .C54 L4 1996]

Choral Music by African American Composers. Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 1996. [MUSIC Ref. ML128 .C48 W5 1996]

A Dictionary of Protestant Church Music. New Jersey: Scarecrow Press, 1975. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .C5 D33]

Key Words in Church Music. Missouri: Publishing House, 1978. [MUSIC RESERVE ML102 .C5 K5]

Hymnal Handbook for Standard Hymns and Gospel Songs. New York: AMS, 1975. [MUSIC RESERVE ML3186 .R68]

 

Other Books of Interest

The History of Jazz. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. [MUSIC RESERVE ML3506 .G56]

A History of Jazz in America. New York: Da Capo Press, 1972. [MUSIC RESERVE ML3561 .J3 U5 1972]

Jazz in the Sixties: The Expansion of Musical Resources and Techniques. Iowa: University of Iowa Press, 1978. [MUSIC RESERVE ML3561 .J3 B88]

Jazz Masters in Transition, 1957-69. New York: Da Capo Press, 1980. [MUSIC RESERVE ML3506. W54]

Jazz Masters of the Fifties. New York: Da Capo Press, 1980. [MUSIC RESERVE ML3506 .G64]

Jazz Masters of the Forties. New York: Collier Macmillan Publishers, 1966. [MUSIC RESERVE ML3506 . G58]

Jazz Masters of the Twenties. New York: Da Capo Press, 1986. [MUSIC RESERVE ML394 .H33]

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Vernice Faison
Contact:
301 Edwards Music Hall
919-530-6220