Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental Earth and Geospatial Sciences: Databases

Databases

Databases are a searchable collections of documents or data.

TIGER/Line Shape Files

Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing

TIGER/Line®Shapefiles are spatial extracts from the Census Bureau's MAF/TIGER database, containing features such as roads, railroads, rivers, as well as legal and statistical geographic areas.

They are made available to the public for no charge and are typically used to provide the digital map base for a Geographic Information System or for mapping software.

They are designed for use with geographic information system (GIS) software. The TIGER/Line®Shapefiles do not include demographic data, but they contain geographic entity codes that can be linked to the Census Bureau’s demographic data, available on American FactFinder.

 

 

UCGIS

Census Bureau Geography

Additional Geography Databases

GeoNames - The GeoNames geographical database covers all countries and contains over eight million placenames that are available for download free of charge.

 

Data (The World Bank)-[encompasses statistics formerly found in World Development Indicators (WDI)]

U.S. Gazetteer - The US Gazetteer is a list of United States place names that were included in the 1990 census. Since it was derived from census data, this database only contains names for populated places.

Gazetteer of Planetary Nomenclature - Planetary nomenclature, like terrestrial nomenclature, is used to uniquely identify a feature on the surface of a planet or satellite so that the feature can be easily located, described, and discussed. This gazetteer contains detailed information about all names of topographic and albedo features on planets and satellites (and some planetary ring and ring-gap systems) that the International Astronomical Union (IAU) has named and approved from its founding in 1919 through the present time.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Hafsa Murad
Contact:
919-530-6473

James E. Shepard Memorial Library

North Carolina Central University