Skip to main content

Education

This guide will help you become familiar with the resources available at the Curriculum Materials Center in the School of Education Building.

Off Campus Access

EZ Proxy allows persons with a NCCU username and password that are off-campus, access to connect to the NCCU network in a secure and encrypted means. EZ Proxy gives you the same access you would have on a computer on campus that is physically connected to the NCCU network.

Off Campus Access:

http://web.nccu.edu/shepardlibrary/tools/databases/db_alphabeticalproxy.html

Find Articles: Education-Related Databases

Shepard Library databases are reliable sources for a wide variety of information: journal articles, newspaper/magazine articles, reference material, statistics, and consumer information can all be found in a Subject Listing of Electronic Databases.

ProQuest Central
Covers all subjects: includes scholarly journal, news, and magazine articles.

Child Development and Adolescent Studies
Child Development & Adolescent Studies, produced by NISC, is today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. More than 342,000 records are included with over 10,000 new records added each year.

ProQuest Education Database
Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

CQ Researcher Online
Original reports on current news topics.
ERIC
Indexes over 750 journals in the field of education from 1966 to present and includes full text of ERIC Digests from 1967 to present.

Mental Measurements Yearbook Series
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this database provides a comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the series contains information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership.

SIRS Knowledge Source
Good database for researching current and controversial issues.

Education Research Complete 
Education
Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.

ProQuest Research Companion
An award-winning, cloud-based information literacy solution that enables educators and librarians to guide students through research projects efficiently.

Teacher Reference Center

This index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books, provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

 

Journal Finder Search Box



Use Journal Finder to search for any journal (print or electronic) in the Shepard Library collection. You must search by the journal title, NOT the article title.