Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hip Hop: Organizations and Programs

Organizations

 

Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC) is a repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era.

Breakin' Convention Festival is an international festival of hip hop dance.

 The-Breaks.com, AKA The (Rap) Sample FAQ site acts as an extensive resource on funk and hip hop music. It traces all the connections between hip hop and funk primarily via the use of samples.

Hiphop Archive The Hiphop Archive and Research Institute's mission is to facilitate and encourage the pursuit of knowledge, art, culture and responsible leadership through hip hop.

Hip Hop Archive at Harvard University organize and develop collections, initiate and participate in research activities, sponsor events and acquire material associated with hip hop in the U.S. and throughout the world.

Hip Hop Caucus mission is to organize young people to be active in elections, policymaking and service projects. We mobilize, educate, and engage young people, ages 14 to 40, on the social, issues that directly impact their lives and communities.

HIPHOPDIRECTORY  is the first comprehensive hip-hop search engine based out of the United States that features news, fashion, music downloads, jewelry, and more.

Hip Hop Education Center [HHEC] mission is to cultivate and develop Hip-Hop scholars, teaching artists, cultural workers and activists, and social entrepreneurs.

Hip Hop Education and Literacy Programs offers supplemental reading workbooks developed around the lyrics of popular Hip Hop songs. H.E.L.P. is designed by educators to provide culturally responsive teaching materials that motivate students to read and improve literacy skills.

Hip Hop 4 Health is a community-conscious non-profit organization that partners with health organiztions to educate youth.

Hip Hop Project is an award winning arts-based education organization that engages and empowers the voice of young people through innovative programming, multimedia activism, mentorship and community service projects. 

Hip Hop Theater Initiative  mission is to integrate the rigors of theatre training and making with the performance elements and politics of the youth-driven, grassroots, activist culture of hip hop; and  train participants to lead arts-based workshops and to facilitate dialogue about the social issues pertaining to Hip Hop.

Nomadic Wax is an enterprise that produces music, film and educational events aimed at creating cross-cultural exchange and increasing awareness of global issues.

The Original Hip Hop Lyrics Archive is a collection of lyrics, including some soundtracks and compilations.

Project Hip Hop  (Highways Into the Past – History, Organizing and Power) is a youth-led organization that works at the intersection of arts and organizing. Our mission is to teach the hip hop generation how to use hip hop as a cultural tool to educate and motivate our community.

World Beats & Life Inc. uses a holistic approach to youth, and community development that involves hip-hop artists, scholars, educators, activists, and allies.

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Vernice Faison
Contact:
301 Edwards Music Hall
919-530-6220