Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Selected Bibliography of the Hayti Community: Dissertations, Thesis, Paper and Unpublished Works

Dissertations, Thesis, Paper and Unpublished Works

Armfield, Felix L. “Durham’s Tobacco Industry: The Black Experience, 1890-1950.” Master’s

thesis, North Carolina Central University, 1989.

Avery, John Moses – Kennedy Collection.

Bowman, Robert Louis. Negro Politics in Four Southern Counties.” Ph.D. dissertation, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1964.

Boyd, Harold Kent. “Louis Austin and the Carolina Times.” Master’s thesis, North Carolina College at Durham, 1996.

Brinton, Hugh Penn. “The Negro in Durham: A Study of Adjustment to Town Life.” Ph.D. dissertation, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1930.

Brown, Lula M. “The Life and Times of James T. Taylor.” Master’s thesis, North Carolina Central University, 1971.

Burns, Augustus Merrimon. “North Carolina and the Negro Dilemma, 1930-1950.” Ph.D. dissertation, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1968.

Cole, Olivia W. “Rencher Nicholas Harris: A Quarter Century of Negro Leadership.” Master’s thesis, North Carolina College at Durham, 1967.

Foye, Marjorie – Desegregation in Durham.

Gloster, Jesse Edward. “North Carolina Mutual Life Insurance Company: Its Historical Development and Current Operations.” Ph.D. dissertation, University of Pittsburgh, 1955.

Goldston, Maude Perkins. “An Analysis of Life Insurance Programs for Selected Families in Durham, North Carolina.” Master’s thesis, Durham, North Carolina College at Durham, 1962.

Greene, Christina. “Our Separate Ways’: Women and the Black Freedom Movement in Durham, North Carolina, 1940s-1970.” Ph.D. dissertation, Duke University, 1996.

Haley, John Hamilton. “A Newspaper History of Race Relations in Durham, North Carolina, 1865-1931.” Ph.D. dissertation, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1981.

Hammonds, Kennetta – Spirituality Its Effects on the Female Activist in the Durham, NC Civil Rights Movement.

Harris, Glen Anthony. “The Life of Alexander McAllister Rivera, Jr.: An odyssey of historical dimensions and time.” Master’s thesis, North Carolina Central University, 1992.

Hill Directory Company. Durham N.C., Directory, 1911-1912. Durham and Richmond, Va.: Hill Directory Company 1911.

Hill Directory Company. Durham, N.C., Business Directory, 1915-1916. Richmond, Va.: Hill Directory Company, 1915.

Hill Directory Company. Durham (N.C.) Directory, 1917. Richmond, Va. Hill Directory Company, 1917.

Horton, Tonya M. “African American Economic Development in the Hayti Area, Durham, North Carolina.” Master’s thesis, North Carolina Central University, 1993.

Houck, Thomas H. “A Newspaper History of Race Relations in Durham, North Carolina.” Master’s thesis, Duke University, 1941.

Jones, Beverly Washington. The Stanford L. Warren Branch Library Celebrates Its 50th Anniversary at Historic Site (1940-1900).

Kennedy, William Jesse, Jr. “North Carolina Mutual Life Insurance Company: A Symbol of Progress, 1898-1966.” Manuscript in possession of William Jesse Kennedy, Jr., Durham, N.C. 1966.

Kiser, Vernon Benjamin. “Occupational Changes Among Negroes in Durham, North Carolina.” Master’s thesis, Duke University, 1942.

Lemert, Benjamin. “Durham, North Carolina: An Economic Survey.” Vols 1 and 2. Typescript. Durham: Durham Chamber of Commerce 1939.

Maslowski, James Joseph. “North Carolina Migration, 1870-1915.” Ph.D. dissertation, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1953.

McConnell, Roland Calhoun. “Negro in North Carolina since Reconstruction.” Ph.D. dissertation, New York University, 1945.

Nash, Elena – The Building of a Successful Community: The Hayti Community.

Page, Benjamin F. “Social Stratification among Negroes in a Southern Town.” Master’s thesis, North Carolina College at Durham, 1952.

Rackley, Barbara. “The History of Stanford L. Warren Public Library 1913-1965.” Master’s thesis, North Carolina Central University, 1990.

Rice, John Donald. “The Negro Tobacco Worker and His Union in Durham, N.C.” Master’s thesis, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1941.

Scarborough, J.C., III – Scarborough Papers.

Seay, Elizabeth Irene. “AHistory of North College for Negroes.” Master’s thesis, Duke University, 1941.

Stanford, Edith Scarborough – Clydie Scarborough’s material from St. Joseph Church.

Terry-Williams, Doris – Old Hayti, A Peoples History.

Vann, Andre D. “Black Women Unite: A History of Black Women’s Clubs in Durham, NC, 1917-1954.” Master’s thesis, North Carolina Central University, 1995.

Waite, E. Emerson, Jr. “Social Factors in Negro Business Enterprise.” Master’s thesis, Duke University, 1940.

Walker, Shana – The Family: The Marriage of Business and Roots at North Carolina Mutual Life Insurance Company

Weare, Walter B. “Black Business: A Reevaluation of the Functional Roles of Autonomous Black Institutions.” Paper presented at Behind the Veil Research Conference, Center for Documentary Studies at Duke University and North Carolina Central University, 12 Nov. 1990.

Westin, Richard Barry. “A history of the Durham School System, 1882-1933.” Master’s thesis, Duke University, 1950.

Wilkerson, Edith. “Patterns of Negro Segregation in Durham, North Carolina.” Master’s thesis, Duke University, 1950.

Winford, Brandon K. “The Struggle For Freedom Begins Every Morning: The Durham Committee on Negro Affairs, 1935-1970.” Master’s thesis, North Carolina Central University, 2007.