Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Resources

This guide presents business and related resources at the James E. Shepard Memorial Library at North Carolina Central University. Keep in mind that some of the greatest resources are people and the Shepard Library staff are available to assist you.

Basic Steps for Finding Articles

Clarify your topic and prepare to search

Decide what it is that you're trying to find. What are the key concepts? Think of a few words that briefly represent the most essential elements of your topic-these will be your search terms. Brainstorm a few possible synonyms for your main concepts, especially if your topic is very specific.

Execute your search

NCCU has access to many databases covering a wide range of subjects. For your convenience, just a few of the databases most useful to business students have been highlighted in the box below. One very important technique is to decide how you will combine your search terms. If you search for multiple search terms combined with AND, you will find only articles that include ALL of your search terms, which results in fewer results. If you combine search terms with OR, you will find all articled that include ANY of your search terms, which result in more (sometimes many more) results. Most databases also have ways to refine a search, or to combine the results of more than one search.

Be patient

Effective searching is both a skill and an art. If you are not happy with what you find immediately, think about ways to improve your search. If you find an overwhelming number of results, you may want to use more specific search terms. If you feel like you're not finding enough articles, you may need to be more general or think of additional synonyms. Remember that while each database operates on the same basic principles, there are myriad differences in interface look-and-feel, sources covered, and the vocabulary used to assign "subjects" to an article, Do not be surprised if you have to go through a little trial and error.

Access full text

Many articles will have full text available, and you will probably find it very easy to read, print or download the articles you want. Do not be discouraged, however if you find an article that seems helpful, but don't see the full text of it in the database you're using! Check out Journal Finder where you can look up the journal and see if NCCU has it in another database or in print.

Keep track of your citations.

As an NCCU student you can use Endnote citation management software programs for FREE. You are not required to use this software, but it can make it easier to keep track of your research and to create properly formatted bibliographies/reference pages for your papers. It also integrates with Microsoft Word and can make it easier to correctly insert citations within the body of your paper.

Ask for help!

I am very happy to make appointments to consult with you on your research project at any point in the research process. I can help with planning a search strategy and deciding where to get started, as well as with evaluating sources you've found. It's important for you to hone your own research skills through practice, but you do not need to spin your wheels unproductively in frustration before you ask for help. You are welcome to email me with question or visit my office in Shepard Library Room 229.

Recommended Databases for Business Research and to Find Articles

  • ABI/INFORM (ProQuest) contains business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers. 
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) is a good starting point for research. It is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with full-text periodicals, including peer-reviewed journals.
  • Access World News - Business finds information on topics related to consumer issues, global economy, government and business and financial literacy.
  • Business Source Complete (EBSCO) is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.
  • Firsthand features industry and employer guides; company rankings and profiles; job and internship listings; networking tools; industry and career guides; resume and interview tips; career articles and blogs.
  • IBISWorld provides a comprehensive and up-to-date collection of US Industry Research covering more than 700 Industries at the 5-digit NAICS codes
  • MarketLine Advantage 
    MarketLine Advantage is offering a comprehensive and unique collection of company, industry, financial, and country information extending across every major marketplace worldwide. MarketLine Advantage gives you access to our company focussed Case Studies, which offer concise evaluations of the latest innovative company strategies to help you quickly and easily understand what makes them successful. 
  • Mergent Online provides data on publicly-traded companies worldwide and some private companies; equity reports; industry reports, competitor analysis and more.
  • Business Databases
  • News and Current Affairs Databases
  • Journal Finder use to find out which journals/magazines the library has online or in print
  • Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States. We provide thousands of interactive data maps going back to 1790.
  • Statista is a holistic and multidisciplinary database. Data aggregation and research platform covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics.
  • WARC helps you to plan, create and deliver more effective marketing.
  • WestlawNext has authoritative content for both primary law and exclusive secondary law titles. Attorney-editor enhancements from a team of bar-admitted attorneys who analyze, categorize, and summarize the law to help ensure the information is not only accurate, but also easy to find and interpret.