Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Resources

Welcome

Greetings Eagles:

Welcome to NCCU's James E. Shepard Memorial Library's history subject guide. The purpose of this guide is to provide a concise information portal that contains many resources to help you get started researching historical topics. Here you will find information about databases, journals, websites, books and films. Please explore this site by using the tabs on the side. If you need assistance, please do not hesitate to ask a librarian for help.

All the best,

Ethan Levi Margolis

Quick Links for Local History

ArchivesGrid: This is an aid to help you locate primary source historical documents such as personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. It is essentially a way to help you find the archive that might hold what you are looking for. From there you will have to search an archives catalog or contact the archive you find to get access to the primary source materials you need. I would strongly advise contacting an archivist at whichever archive you think might be helpful. They will be able to help you to find what you need - it can be very hard to locate things in an archive by yourself!

NCCU's Department of History Find information regarding our Department of History, faculty contact information, and other fast fasts.

North Carolina History Project  This is an encyclopedia of North Carolina that includes commentaries, lesson plans and a community calendar. It is NOT technically a scholarly resource since it is produced by a think-tank instead of a scholarly journal or academic institution; however, sites like this (and Wikipedia) can often be helpful to orient oneself with a historical topic or to search the references for scholarly sources. 

Digital NC The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digitization and digital publishing program housed in the North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The Digital Heritage Center works with cultural heritage institutions across North Carolina to digitize and publish historic materials online.

North Carolina ECHO Online access to photos taken of archives, historic houses, museums, libraries and and other cultural institutions.

University Archives and Records is an important resource for collecting, preserving, interpreting and explaining the history of North Carolina Central University. The archival area is the repository for documentary, photographic, and other materials of historic value to the college.

Search the Library Catalog