Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Unleashing the Power of Digital Tools: Learning What you Don’t Know: Home

Companion Guide for Unleashing the Power of Digital Tools Webinar

 

Open Educational Resources

Open Educational Resources OER are teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their open use and re-purposing by others. Open educational resources include full courses, course materials, modules, textbooks, streaming videos, tests, software, and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support finding knowledge.” (The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation)

Applied Digital Skills 

Applied Digital Skills is a project-based online video curriculum from Google that teaches practical digital skills for real-life application. (JSB)

Open Textbook Library 

Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be used and adapted. Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they can be used and distributed with no cost, and are licensed to be adapted or changed with proper attribution. (DCL)

Library Resources

Films on Demand 

Thousands of high-quality videos on business and economics, health and medicine, humanities and social sciences, and science and mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award-winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches, and newsreels. To use this resource, you will need to login to the resource with your NCCU User ID and password. (DCL)

Oxford Scholarship Online 

Oxford Scholarship Online offers thousands of academic works from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law. To use this resource, you will need to log in with your NCCU User ID and password (JSB).

Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete

Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school and studying, career development, arts and leisure, and practical life skills. To use this resource, you will need to login to the resource with your NCCU User ID and password.

 

Publication Resources

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)

Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. To use this resource, you will need to login to the resource with your NCCU User ID and password.

SCIMago Journal and Country Rank lists journals by category and you can examine their rank within a given field

Journal Matching Tools Journal matching tools may allow you to identify journals that match the topic of your research.

IEEE Publication Recommender

Search 190+ periodicals and 1800+ conferences, Compare critical points such as Impact Factor and Submission-To-Publication Time and get key data about IEEE publications.

Jane: Journal/Author Name Estimator 

Use this website to help determine the best MEDLINE journal to approach for publishing a manuscript.

JournalGuide 

Enter the title, keyword, or abstract of your paper into JournalGuide’s database to find journals that match your topic.

Journal Finder (Elsevier)

Insert your title and abstract and select the appropriate field-of-research for the best results into the Elsevier Journal Finder to match your article to Elsevier journals.

Manuscript Matcher 

Find the best match for your manuscript, using Web of Science Core Collection indexed data from more than 24,000 journals across thousands of global publishers using EndNote’s Manuscript Matcher tool.

Scholarly Publishing Information Hub (SPI-Hub™) 

Enter up to 5 keywords describing the topic of your research into the SPI-Hub database to identify journals in which to publish your work. SPI-Hub consolidates information from multiple resources to easily compare the quality, scholarly importance, and editorial policies of several biomedical journals.

Springer Journal Suggester 

​​​​​​​Enter your manuscript details to see a list of Springer journals most suitable for your research.

Wiley Journal Finder 

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Enter the title and abstract of your manuscript into the Wiley Journal Finder to locate relevant Wiley journals.

Open Journal Matcher

This tool matches a draft abstract with the best-matching open resource online journals.

Productivity Tools

PowerNotes

PowerNotes is a productivity tool that allows you to gather, organize, and track internet research easily and efficiently. To use this resource, you will need to add the browser extension for this resource and create an account with your NCCU e-mail.  

RefWorks 

​​​​​​​RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool that is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. To use this resource, you will need to create an account with your NCCU e-mail to use this resource. 

Promoting Your Research with our Institutional Repository 

NC Docks

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​NC Digital Online Collection of Knowledge and Scholarship is a cooperative effort to make the scholarly output of the University of North Carolina System more available to the world. Current institutional participants include Appalachian State University, East Carolina University, North Carolina Central University, UNC Asheville, UNC Charlotte, UNC Greensboro, UNC Pembroke, UNC Wilmington, and Western Carolina University. NC DOCKS includes many full-text articles, audio recordings, dissertations, and other formats. Every material is indexed by Google and is available to scholars and researchers.

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Jamillah Scott-Branch
Contact:
James E. Shepard Memorial Library
(919) 530-7312
Website