Open Educational Resources
Open Educational Resources OER are teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their open use and re-purposing by others. Open educational resources include full courses, course materials, modules, textbooks, streaming videos, tests, software, and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support finding knowledge.” (The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation)
Creative Commons
Creative Commons – Provide licenses and public domain tools that give every person and organization in the world a free, simple, and standardized way to grant copyright permissions for creative and academic works; ensure proper attribution; and allow others to copy, distribute, and make use of those works
Resources for Finding OER Textbooks
Open Textbook Library – This resource provides access to over 800+ textbooks. Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution. This collection includes textbooks from OpenStax, Saylor, and others. Books in the OTL have been peer-reviewed for quality, and the Open Textbook Library has multiple criteria for inclusion in the Library.
OpenStax – These books were developed following traditional textbook publishing methods, including peer review, editorial support, and the creation of ancillary content. Books are available in multiple formats (PDF, print on demand, on the Web) and are licensed to be revised and remixed by faculty who want to create a custom solution for a course.
BC Campus OpenEd – This site includes texts written specifically for the British Columbia OpenTextbook initiative, as well as books from other sources.
The Directory of OpenAccess Books (DOAB) – This site is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access, book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Project Gutenberg – Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks.
Wikibooks – This is a collection of open-content textbooks. Wikibooks include textbooks, annotated texts, instructional guides, and manuals.
Find OER Resources Beyond Textbooks
Mason OER Metafinder – Search for OER materials simultaneously across 21 different OER repositories.
Merlot – Access curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners, and researchers.
Open North Carolina – Access curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners, and researchers.
OER Commons – Access curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners, and researchers.
Find Free Videos
Applied Digital Skills – Applied Digital Skills is a project-based online video curriculum from Google that teaches practical digital skills for real-life application.
Crash Course – Crash Course provides high-quality educational videos for free.
Khan Academy – Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.
TED TALKS – TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short talks (18 minutes or less).
TeacherTube – This YouTube for teachers is an amazing resource for finding educationally-focused videos to share with your classroom. You can find videos uploaded by other teachers or share your own.
Open Pedagogy - Open pedagogy, also known as open educational practices (OEP), is the use of open educational resources (OER) to support learning, or the open sharing of teaching practices with a goal of improving education and training at the institutional, professional, and individual level.
Open Pedagogy Resources
Open Pedagogy Notebook -This website is designed to serve as a resource for educators interested in learning more about Open Pedagogy.
BC Campus OpenEd - This site provides information about Open Pedagogy within the classroom and more.
Library Resources to Support OER Course Redesign
Films on Demand - Thousands of high-quality videos on business and economics, health and medicine, humanities and social sciences, and science and mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award-winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches, and newsreels. To use this resource, you will need to login to the resource with your NCCU User ID and password. (DCL)
Oxford Scholarship Online - Oxford Scholarship Online offers thousands of academic works from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law. To use this resource, you will need to log in with your NCCU User ID and password (JSB).
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete - Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school and studying, career development, arts and leisure, and practical life skills. To use this resource, you will need to login to the resource with your NCCU User ID and password.
