Journals are similar to magazines in that they are published regularly( eg. monthly or quarterly)
Articles in journals are more in-depth and well researched than magazine articles. The are written by experts in a particular field of study, and are based on the author's research.
Most of the library's journal articles are accessed electronically through the journal databases. However, the Shepard library maintains a sizeable print collection available in the Serials department (2nd floor), and accessed through JOURNAL FINDER.
Journal databases are huge, searchable, up-to-date indexes of journal references.
They help you find jornal articles that have been published on a topic.
If you have been asked to find scholarly articles for your assignment, you will need to search a database.
Below is a selection of subject-specific databases which can help you focus your search results. In the right-hand column of this page are general databases, which are good places to start your search for articles on various aspects of criminal justice. Your search will probably result in hundreds of articles so remember that you will need to narrow your topic. Each database has its own method for doing this so look carefully.
Academic Search Complete via EBSCOhost
Coverage: Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Access World News - Criminal Justice via NewsBank
Coverage: Find information related to cybercrime, identity theft, U.S. Supreme Court decisions, juvenile crime and repeat offenders.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text via EBSCOhost
Coverage: Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the leading full-text database for criminal justice research. It offers an essential collection of journals for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
Criminology via Sage
Coverage: It covers such subjects as Criminal justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.
Films On Demand: Digital Educational Video via Infobase Learning via NC LIVE
Coverage: It is a collection of streaming educational films, documentaries, and helpful instructional videos.
LegalTrac via Gale
Coverage: This database finds articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals. Legal newspapers on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Government Regulations, Legal Practice, and legal subjects such as Taxation and International Law. British Commonwealth and European Union cases and law are also included. 1980 - Current.
Nexis Uni via LexisNexis
Coverage: It contains case law from the federal courts and all 50 states, as well as current statutory and regulatory codes, law reviews and journals, news resources, and company information.
ProQuest Central via ProQuest via NC LIVE
Coverage: General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
ProQuest Criminal Justice Database via ProQuest via NC LIVE
Coverage: Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
ScienceDirect via Elsevier Science
Coverage: Provides scientific, technical and medical (STN) research that offers access to more than 1,100 journals across sixteen fields of science, including the social sciences.
Note: ScienceDirect is no longer compatible with Internet Explorer
Statista Is a holistic and multidisciplinary database. Data aggregation and research platform covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics.
