Human Sciences

Welcome to the Human Services LibGuide at North Carolina Central University's James E. Shepard Memorial Library! 🎉

Whether you're charting a path in social work, public health, counseling, or community advocacy, this guide is your launchpad to the rich resources and support available at NCCU. As the main library on campus, Shepard Library houses over 500,000 books and more than 400 research databases, offering a technology-rich learning space designed for collaborative engagement and individual study .nccu.edu

Our dedicated librarians are here to assist you with one-on-one consultations, research guidance, and access to a wealth of digital and print materials tailored to your academic journey. Explore our extensive e-book collection, delve into specialized databases, and connect with resources that align with NCCU's mission of "Truth and Service."

Join the Eagle family in making a meaningful impact in the field of human services. Let's embark on this journey together! 🦅📚

Sources

You said:

Make this shorter and more concise with a fun excited tone

ChatGPT said:

Welcome to the Human Services LibGuide at North Carolina Central University's James E. Shepard Memorial Library! 🎉

Whether you're exploring social work, public health, counseling, or community advocacy, this guide is your gateway to NCCU's rich resources. Shepard Library offers over 500,000 books and more than 400 research databases, providing a technology-rich environment for both collaborative and individual study.

Our dedicated librarians are here to assist you with personalized consultations, research guidance, and access to a wealth of digital and print materials tailored to your academic journey. Explore our extensive e-book collection, delve into specialized databases, and connect with resources that align with NCCU's mission of "Truth and Service."

Join the Eagle family in making a meaningful impact in the field of human services. Let's embark on this journey together! 🦅📚

Sources

You said:

Hello. Create a more descriptive account of the resources in general that are offerred in the James E. Shepard Memorial Library at North Carolina Central University. include books, journal articles, data bases, and electronic books that are offerred specifically in inthis library.

ChatGPT said:

The James E. Shepard Memorial Library at North Carolina Central University (NCCU) is a comprehensive academic resource center, offering a vast array of materials and services to support the university's diverse academic programs.

📚 Extensive Print and Digital Collections

• Books and Periodicals: The library houses over 500,000 volumes, including 1,928 periodical subscriptions, and maintains a collection of 140,200 federal and state documents. nccu.edu+1nccu.edu+1

• Electronic Resources: Students and faculty have access to more than 400 research databases, encompassing a wide range of disciplines. Notable databases include:

  • Academic Search Complete: A multidisciplinary database offering thousands of full-text journals.

  • APA PsycArticles: A definitive source for full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.

  • ScienceDirect: Provides access to a large collection of scientific and technical research articles.

  • Ebook Central and eBooks on EBSCOhost: Platforms offering extensive collections of electronic books across various subjects. shepard.libguides.nccu.edu

🏛️ Specialized Collections and Archives

• Special Collections: The Treasure Room houses rare and archival materials, including anti-slavery pamphlets, 19th-century newspapers, and first editions by prominent African American authors such as Phyllis Wheatley and W.E.B. Du Bois. nccu.edu

• Martin Collection: A significant assemblage of approximately 3,000 books and periodicals focusing on African American history and culture, acquired from Reverend Dr. Charles D. Martin. nccu.edu

• University Archives: The library preserves NCCU's institutional history through documents, photographs, and artifacts, providing valuable resources for research on the university's legacy and African American history. nccu.edu

🧑‍🏫 Academic Support and Services

• Research Assistance: Librarians offer personalized consultations and instructional sessions to assist with research strategies, database navigation, and citation management. nccu.edu

• Interlibrary Loan: Through the ILLiad system, patrons can request materials not available within the NCCU libraries, expanding access to resources beyond the campus. nccu.edu+2nccu.edu+2nccu.edu+2

• Collaborative Networks: As a member of the Triangle Research Libraries Network (TRLN), NCCU students and faculty can borrow materials from partner institutions, including Duke University, UNC-Chapel Hill, and NC State University. nccu.edu+2nccu.edu+2nccu.edu+2

🏫 Branch Libraries and Specialized Centers

• Curriculum Materials Center (CMC): Located in the H.M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, the CMC provides educational resources such as K-12 textbooks, lesson plans, and teaching aids to support teacher education programs. nccu.edu+1nccu.edu+1

• Music Library: Situated in the Edwards Music Building, this library offers a collection of musical scores, recordings, and literature to support the music curriculum. nccu.edu+1nccu.edu+1

• School of Library and Information Sciences (SLIS) Library: Located on the third floor of the Shepard Library, the SLIS Library contains over 40,000 volumes and subscribes to numerous journals and databases pertinent to library and information science. nccu.edu+2nccuslis.org+2nccuslis.org+2

The James E. Shepard Memorial Library stands as a cornerstone of academic excellence at NCCU, providing essential resources and services to foster learning, research, and scholarly engagement across the university community.

Sources