For best results when searching Shepard Library electronic resources from off campus, just sign in using your NCCU login credentials.
Access World News - Political Science via NewsBank
Coverage: Find information related to political campaigns, governmental issues, political issues and world leaders.
CQ Researcher Online via CQ Press
Coverage: CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world. Each 12,000-word report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Published 44 times a year, CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Federal Digital System via US Government Publications Office
Coverage: The Federal Digital System is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. This free service is funded by the Federal Depository Library Program and has grown out of Public Law 103-40, known as the Government Printing Office Electronic Information Enhancement Act of 1993.
Coverage: Archive of over 100 full text scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Does not include issues from recent volumes usually the last 2-5 years.
MarciveWeb Docs via US Government Publications
Coverage: MarciveWeb Docs is a general index to federal government documents published from 1976 to the present and is updated monthly. It indexes many types of documents including agency publications, annual reports, census data, congressional hearings, and statistical publications.
Nexis Uni via LexisNexis
Coverage: It contains case law from the federal courts and all 50 states, as well as current statutory and regulatory codes, law reviews and journals, news resources, and company information.
Coverage: Includes links for finding representatives and senators for both the NCGA and the US Congress by county, district, and Zip code. Also includes maps of voter precincts and a history of the current congressional districts.
PAIS International via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Coverage: The PAIS International database from CSA contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Political Science via Sage
Coverage: Political science, American government, policy studies. 1974-Current.
The NCCU Graduate Handbook defines plagiarism as
"Plagiarism is the use of the ideas, words, or work of another without attribution when the information provided is not common knowledge either in content or form and includes, but is not limited to (1) quoting from the published or unpublished work of another without appropriate attribution; (2) paraphrasing or summarizing in one's own work any portion of the published or unpublished materials of another without attribution; and (3) borrowing from another's work, data, and facts which are not in the domain of common knowledge.”
Learn how to avoid plagiarism and cite properly by watching the Plagiarism Tutorial offered by Shephard Library.
The new RefWorks is a premier reference management service that supports the needs of students, faculty and librarians. With a refined user experience, full-text management, collaboration and other features you’d expect from a reference management solution, RefWorks enables students and faculty to have a more efficient and reliable process for producing the best research papers and grants. Libraries are able to offer this powerful service and have full administrative controls and analytics that provide a consistent source of patron and content usage.
Citation machine helps students and professional researchers to properly credit the information that they use. Its primary goal is to make it so easy for student researchers to cite their information sources, that there is virtually no reason not to.
A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.