LibGuides: Sustainability and Environmental Resources: Home

Sustainability Graphic

Sustainability Guide Graphic by Danielle Colbert-Lewis

Sustainability and Environmental Resources at Shepard Library

Sustainability and Environmental Resources

This guide will explore sustainability and environmental resources at Shepard Library and beyond.

Using the tabs at the top of this web page to navigate through different types of resources that will be helpful for finding general information on sustainability and social responsibility.

Sustainability

In 1987, the United Nations Brundtland Commission defined sustainability as “meeting the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.”

From: United Nations Brundtland Commission

United Nations Sustainable Development Goals

Sustainable Development Goals

The Sustainable Development Goals address the global challenges we face, including those related to poverty, inequality, climate change, environmental degradation, peace and justice. The 17 Goals are all interconnected, and in order to leave no one behind (United Nations, Take Action for the Sustainable Development Goals).

Triple Bottom Line

Triple Bottom Line explanation:

Shepard Library Databases

To find more information on this topic, try looking up a company name or industry and the terms "social responsibility", "green marketing", "ethics", "environmental auditing," or use an "environmental" or "sustainability" term in the A-Z Databases.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, science, social issues, sports, STEM, technology and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the News and Observer, Herald-Sun, USA Today, international sources and more.
Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Agricultural and Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world. Each 12,000-word report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Published 44 times a year, CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
It offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. It contains more than 2.5 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles). The database contains full text for more than 920 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, it provides full text for more than 190 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment and Environmental Management, etc
Gale In Context - Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
It focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, state and province portals form research centers around issues covering earth systems, global change, land and water use, populations, legislation, and more. Portal overviews provide essential information, supplemented by academic journals, news, case studies, conferences, statistics, and rich multimedia.
Geological Society of America Bulletin This link opens in a new window
It is the Society's premier scholarly journal, published continuously since 1890. Fully refereed, each bimonthly issue includes 16–20 papers reporting major research in the traditional, documented, research-paper style. Topics cover the entire range of the earth sciences. GSA Bulletin is profusely illustrated with occasional color and large inserts.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest titles, government documents, and reports related to the topic of ecology.
ProQuest Science Database This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides scientific, technical and medical (STN) research that offers more than 1,100 journals across sixteen fields of science, including the social sciences.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States. We provide thousands of interactive data maps going back to 1790.
Statista This link opens in a new window
It is a holistic and multidisciplinary database. Data aggregation and research platform covering many markets, industries, and societal topics.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
ISI Web of Science consists of five high-quality databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals in every area of research - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

What is Sustainability

Head of Research & Instructional Services

Danielle Colbert-Lewis

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

(919) 530-7546

Subjects: Business, Careers, English, Fashion Resources, Psychology