Skip to main content

Government Documents: Home

Welcome

The Government Documents Guide to Information Resources provides an overview of print and digital resources ie. databases, journals, books, etc. that support the research and instruction areas of the government.

Your Recommendations

 

Feel free to review and recommend additional online resources for chemistry.

Contact Library Liaison

Eric Morris

 

FDLP MetaLab

The Power of MetaLib!

What is MetaLib?

MetaLib is a powerful new federated search tool! Use it to search across 53 Federal Government databases with a single search! Find reports, articles citations, and much more.

FDSys

FDsys: America's Authentic Government Information

FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications. Through FDsys, you are able to

  • Search for documents and publications
    FDsys provides advanced search capabilities and the ability to refine and narrow your search for quick access to the information you need.
  • Browse for documents and publications
    FDsys offers browsing by collection, Congressional committee, and date.
  • Access metadata about documents and publications
    FDsys presents information about Government publications in standard XML formats.
  • Download documents and publications in multiple renditions or file formats
    With FDsys, download a single file or download content and metadata packaged together in a compressed

FDLP

    

                          

The Federal Depository Library Program

 

"This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government Documents. Public Access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law (Title 44 United States Code)."

The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) was established by Federal law (Title 44, U. S. Code, Section 19). The James E. Shepard Memorial Library is a selective Federal Depository Library providing free, public access to Federal government information in a variety of formats. The librarian offers  assistance, free of charge.

The Catalog of Government Publications allows anyone to search for thousands of Federal Government documents that are available online or in Federal Depository Libraries around the country. The MetaLibâ federated search tool allows multi-database searching.

GPO HISTORY

GPO CELEBRATES 150 YEARS WITH EXHIBIT AND HISTORY BOOK

THE BOOK

Keeping America Informed: The U.S. Government Printing Office: 150 Years of Service to the Nation tells the story of GPO’s history through text and photographs, many never published before. Its authoritative text and unique images depict the enormous contribution of its employees, past and present, to the well-being of the American people and nation.

Kid's Korner

The official kids portal for the U.S. Government

Find resources about how our government works and primary source materials

KidsHealth

A Nemours Foundation site which provides doctor-approved health information about children from before birth through adolescence

 

Our Courts: 21st Century Civics  

Civics games, lesson plans, comprehensive resource link, civics-in-action projects, and more for teachers and students

 

 

Popular Government Sites

United States Postal Service  

Find zip codes, calculate postage, change addresses, find post offices, track/confirm shipments, buy stamps, and more

Social Security Administration  

Apply for benefits, estimate your benefits, search the Popular Baby Names database, find the form to apply for a social security number or replace a lost card, and more

U.S. Patent & Trademark Office  

How to get a patent, register a trademark, find a patent or trademark, and more

U.S. Copyright Office  

Find copyright forms, information about copyright laws, and works registered since January 1, 1978

Central Intelligence Agency  

Find declassified information, The World Factbook, information on world leaders, and information for students and parents including internet safety

U.S. Department of State  

Find information about visas to foreign citizens, passports for U.S. citizens, request speakers, find consular offices, learn about countries and the Secretary of State and her activities

Frequently used Sites Related to Federal Documents

QR code for this LibGuide

qrcode