Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents

Welcome to the North Carolina Central University Libguide for Governemnt Documents. Your Government Documents Librarian is Eric Morris, and he is available online emorris@nccu.edu and at (919) 530-6598

Contact the Library

Shepard Library Hours

Summer Schedule

Monday  - Thursday   8 AM - 7 PM
Friday                         8 AM -  5 PM
Saturday                    CLOSED
Sunday                      12 NOON - 8 PM
Please call 919-530-6426 for updated library hours.

If visiting is not an option, contacting a librarian is as easy as sending an email, typing up a chat or picking up the phone!

Phone:   
Circulation Desk
(919) 530-6426
 
Reference Desk
 (919) 530-6473
 
Email:  
 

 

 
 
 

Government Documents

 (919) 530-6598

Other Research Tools

Learn how to avoid plagiarism and cite properly by learning the Plagiarism Tutorial.

 EndNote

     EndNote is an online search tool - it provides a simple way to search online bibliographic databases and retrieve the references directly into EndNote. It can also import data files saved from a variety of online services and library databases. 

 

     Citation machine helps students and professional researchers to properly credit the information that they use. Its primary goal is to make it so easy for student researchers to cite their information sources, that there is virtually no reason not to.

     A easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.

 

 

 

Borrowing Materials from Shepard Library and Other Libraries

Borrowing from Shepard Library

Circulating books can be borrowed at the Circulation Desk or Information Desk. NCCU students, faculty and staff must present a NCCU ID to borrow library materials. Shepard Library circulation policies are designed to permit prompt and equitable use of library materials. The staff is committed to meeting the research needs of the library's patrons. The Circulation staff will explain specific borrowing guidelines and fine policies.

Interlibrary Loan Services

Shepard Library can borrow materials from other libraries on behalf of its users.  If you need a book, journal article or other item that Shepard Library does not have, you can obtain items by placing an online interlibrary loan request.  Create an ILLiad account for yourself by clicking on the link below. Follow the instructions for "first time users."

TRLN Cooperative Library Lending Program

The TRLN Cooperative Library Lending Program is a lending agreement among the libraries of the Triangle Research Libraries Network (TRLN).

Search TRLN

NCCU students, faculty and staff are eligible to borrow materials from these other libraries.

You will need to provide your NCCU Borrower ID number and your PIN number. (Your borrower ID is your BANNER # and your PIN is the number provided to you by your home library), You may obtain your PIN number at any time by contacting the Circulation Department at 919-530-6426.

ULAC Cooperative Library Borrowing Program

The Cooperative Library Lending Borrowing Program brings together the sixteen participating libraries of the constituent institutions of the University of North Carolina in a cooperative direct borrowing program that constitutes one aspect of a policy of broad sharing of library resources. You can find the list of participating libraries by clicking on the ULAC link above and scrolling down to ULAC Cooperative Library Borrowing Program. One is certainly near you!

NCCU students requesting borrowing privileges at a participating library must present a valid NCCU student ID card along with another form of photo ID.

Research Assistance

Research Assistance

The Library offers assistance to students working on research papers, assignments and projects. Library Liaisons assist students in finding books and other materials using the Online Catalog, electronic databases, electronic journals, print indexes and abstracts, and other resources.

For assistance do one of the following:

·     Call (919) 530-7315

·     E-mail the Information Literacy/Library Instruction Librarian.

·     Fill out a Research Help Request Form

·     Stop by the Information Literacy/Library Instruction Librarian's office, Room 224 in the Reference Department.

Library Liaisons

The library's liaison program links a member of the library with an academic department or school. The liaison librarians:

·     Communicate with the department's faculty and students.

·     Provide information to faculty about library services and collections.

·     Coordinate the selection and ordering of books, periodicals, and other materials.

·     Provide information services in the department's discipline or subject area.

Contact information for the Library Liaisons and their subjects can be found here.

Subject Guides

Web-based Subject Guides on a range of subject areas are designed to help you identify information resources relevant to your research, and provide a first step or additional resources. Click on the above link then select the subject you hope to research.

Online Reference & Citation Resources

CAVEAT LECTOR - Let the reader beware

 "When you use a research or academic library, the books, journals and other resources have already been evaluated by scholars, publishers and librarians. Every resource you find has been evaluated in one way or another before you even see it. When you are using the world web, none of this applies. There are no filters. Because anyone can write information on the website, documents of a large range of quality, written by authors of a large range of authority, are available on an even playing field. Excellent resources reside along side the most dubious."
 
You may access other online sources for research from these links. Please remember these links are external to Shepard Library and to NC Central University and we have no control over their content.
 
 Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
 

 

 Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)

 Provides online guidance for MLA and APA style citations, as well as instruction on grammar and mechanics, research, and professional writing.

 

 

 Chicago Manual of Style Online Quick Guide

 This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography. It accommodates a variety of sources, including esoteric ones less appropriate to the author-date system.

 

 

 

 Learning APA Style

 When editors or teachers ask you to write in APA Style, they are referring to the editorial style that many of the social and behavioral sciences have adopted to present written material in the field.

 

 Research and Documentation Online by Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister

  With advice for finding, evaluating, and documenting sources, this website covers essential information students need to research assignments in any discipline.