Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and Encyclopedia

The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1995. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .M88 H59 1995]

The Dictionary of American Pop/Rock: rock, pop, rhythm & blues, folk, country, blues, gospel, jazz, films, musical theater, recording & music business. New York: Schirmer Books, 1982. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .P66 S5]

The Dictionary of Opera. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1983. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .O6 O8]

Encyclopedia of Big Band Classics. New Jersey: Warner Brothers, 1988. [MUSIC Ref. M1507 .E572]

Encyclopedia of Keyboard Instruments: The Piano. New York: Garland, 1994. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .K5 E53]

Encyclopedia of Percussion. New York: Garland, 1995. [MUSIC Ref. ML102.P4 E5]

Encyclopedia of Rock. New York: Schirmer Books, 1988. [MUSIC Ref. ML102.R6 E5 1988]

Encyclopedia of Rhythm & Blues and Doo-Wop Vocal Groups. Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2000. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .P66 R67 2000]

The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre. New York: Schirmer Books, 1994. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .M88 1994]

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. New York: Garland Publications, 1997 [MUSIC Ref. ML100 .G18]

The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music. New York: Stockton Press, 1995. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .P66 G84 1995]

The La Scala Encyclopedia of the Opera. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1993. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .O6 L14 1993]

The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. New York: MacMillan Publishers Limited, 2002. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .J3 N48 2002]

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Oxford: Grove, 2001. [MUSIC Ref. ML100 .N48 2001]

The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments. New York: Grove Dictionaries of Music, 1984. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .I5]

The New Grove Dictionary of Opera. Oxford: Grove, 1997. [MUSIC Ref. ML102 .O6 N5 1997]

The New Oxford Companion to Music. New York: Oxford University Press, 2002. [Shepard Ref. ML100 .S37 2002]

Subject Guide

Vernice Faison's picture
Vernice Faison
Contact:
301 Edwards Music Hall
919-530-6220