Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mass Communication

Databases

Core Databases for Mass Communications

Academic Search Complete via EBSCOhost

Coverage: Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media

It meets the needs of researchers with journal articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.

ProQuest Central via NC LIVE
Coverage: General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

ProQuest Telecommunications via NC LIVE
Coverage: Covers topics including computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, radio and television.

 

Databases for Background Information

Credo Reference
Coverage: Credo covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. It provides online versions of 490+ published reference works from over 70 publishers, including general and specialist dictionaries and encyclopedias.

CQ Global Researcher via CQ Press
Coverage: CQ Global Researcher delivers definitive, in-depth coverage of newsworthy global affairs from a multitude of international viewpoints. It offers focused, readable, single-topic reports on vital world issues.

Gale Virtual Reference Library via Gale

Coverage: Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries.

SIRS Knowledge Source Package via NC LIVE via ProQuest
Coverage: Articles, primary sources, websites and graphics to support K-12 students with research, study and homework.

 

Databases for Newspapers

Access World News via NewsBank
Coverage: Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, science, social issues, sports, STEM, technology and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the News and Observer, Herald-Sun, USA Today, international sources and more.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) 
It is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.

ProQuest Newsstand via NC LIVE
Coverage: News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.