LibGuides: Open Education Resources (OER): Open Education Resources (OER)

Open Educational Resources

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Bureau of Justice Statistics ollect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
CRJU 2250 Intro to Criminal Justice: Bias Test Exercise
The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction
The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction, also known as CALI, is a 501(c)(3) non-profit consortium of mostly US law schools that conducts applied research and development in the area of computer-mediated legal education. The organization is best known in law schools for CALI Lessons, online interactive tutorials in legal subjects, and CALI Excellence for the Future Awards (CALI Awards), given to the highest scorer in a law school course at many CALI member law schools. Nearly every US law school is a member of CALI.

CALI was incorporated in 1982 in the state of Minnesota by the University of Minnesota Law School and Harvard Law School. Details about membership are here.
Mason OER Metafinder
The Mason OER Metafinder searches sixteen targets in real-time, returning the top several hundred or so relevant hits from each site. Because it is a real-time search, it takes a bit longer than searches of pre-indexed content; however, as compensation the results returned are absolutely up-to-the-minute for each search target. Additional results will trickle in as the search continues running and you begin examining your results.

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
AMSER - Applied Math and Science Education Repository
BC Campus: Open Ed
College Open Textbooks
Digital Public Library of America
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
HathiTrust - Full View Available
Merlot.Org
MIT OpenCourseware
OAOpen.org
OER Commons
OERs at Internet Archive
Open Textbook Library
OpenStax CNX
Project Gutenberg
World Digital Library
Merlot II
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material. All of these items have been contributed by the MERLOT member community, who have either authored the materials themselves, or who have discovered the materials, found them useful, and wished to share their enthusiasm for the materials with others in the teaching and learning community.
National Criminal Justice Reference Center
National Criminal Justice Reference Center (NCJRC) services and resources are available to anyone interested in crime, victim assistance, and public safety including policymakers, practitioners, researchers, educators, community leaders, and the general public.
Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.

The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.
Uniform Crime Reporting
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program has been the starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking information on crime in the nation. The program was conceived in 1929 by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to meet the need for reliable uniform crime statistics for the nation. In 1930, the FBI was tasked with collecting, publishing, and archiving those statistics.

Department of Criminal Justice Curated Collection of OER

Course	OER Content (Non Textbooks)	Open Textbooks
CRJU 2250 Intro to Criminal Justice	Bias Test Exercise How to Read a Scholarly Article Preventing Accidental Plagiarism Criminal Justice Bookmark Collection	Introduction to Criminal Justice Criminal Justice: An Overview of the System Fundamental Cases in Criminal Justice
CRJU 2350 Intro to Law Enforcement	The Case Files of John Emil List (OER Commons PBL) The Police Component of Criminal Justice Contacts Between Police and the Public	Ethics in Law Enforcement Community Oriented Policing and Technology Innovations International Perspectives on Police Training and Education Societal Implications of Community Oriented Policing
CRJU 2450 Intro to Corrections	Prison Walk Learning Exercise A Kinder Jail Population Corrections Systems Prison Privatization Prison Virtual Walkthrough The Stanford Prison Project	Is William Martinez Not Our Brother Understanding Penal Practice
CRJU 2650 Juvenile Justice	Understanding the Role of Juvenile Probation (Lecture Notes) In Jail or In Treatment How the Justice System Responds to Juveniles Trying Juveniles as Adults The National Juvenile Defender Center Children and Violence
CRJU 3000 Criminal Justice Theory	Criminology Megasite Criminology	Criminal Sociology White Collar Crime in the Shadows
CRJU 3060 Ethics & Diversity in CJ	Theoretical Frameworks for Analysis of Ethical Dilemmas Unit 2 (Saylor Academy Course) Bias Test Exercise	Ethics in Law Enforcement The Business Ethics Workshop Leading with Cultural Intelligence
CRJU 4000 Criminal Justice Practicum	Job Search Skills Saylor Academy Course Sites for Prof. Development	The Business Ethics Workshop Human Relations
CRJU 4060/4061 Criminal Justice Statistics	Teaching With Data (OER Commons)	Advanced High School Statistics Collaborative Statistics Introduction to Statistics (Publisher-Independent: Rice University Author) Introductory Statistics (Publisher Saylor Foundation: UNC Authors) OpenIntro Statistics (Publisher OpenIntro: Duke & Harvard Authors) SPSS for Windows A Basic Tutorial
CRJU 4110/4111 Research Methods in CJ	Social Research Methods	Principles of Sociological Inquiry – Qualitative and Quantitative Methods Social Science Research: Principles, Methods, and Practices Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research Legal Research in Criminal Justice
CRJU 4510 Criminal Procedure	Case Briefs: From Chaos to Clarity (OER Commons) Games & Simulations	American Government Section 10. Civil Liberties and Civil Rights
CRJU 4600 Senior Seminar	Public Policy Process Public Policy Online Course	American Government Section 11. Policy Making Political Interactions
CRJU 2500 Criminal Investigations	Law Enforcement Collection Policing Collection Crime Control Collection Criminal Investigations The Case of the Barefoot Burglar	Introduction to Criminal Investigation: Processes, Practices and Thinking
CRJU 4250 Criminal Law		Criminal Law Introduction to Criminal Law
CRJU 4150 Police Management Theory	How to Run a Police Dept Police Issues Principles for Promoting Police Integrity
CRJU 4630 Law Enforcement Theory, Policy & Practice	Public Policy Process	International Perspectives on Police Training and Education
CRJU 2470 Jail Policy and Practice	Prison Walk Learning Exercise A Kinder Jail Population The Stanford Prison Project	My Prison Journal – Volume 1
CRJU 2510 Corrections in the Community	Rethinking Probation The Released Successful Transition & Reentry	Understanding Penal Practices
CRJU 4160 Correctional Counseling	Rebecca’s Story: Family Violence and Intervention Strategies The Throughcare Map
CRJU 4640 Correctional Theory, Policy & Practice	Public Policy Process 360 Degrees - Stories Learning About the Death Penalty
CRJU 4650 Counseling in Juvenile Justice	Rebecca’s Story: Family Violence and Intervention Strategies
CRJU 4660 Juvenile Justice Theory, Policy & Practice	Public Policy Process
HLS 3000 Intro to Homeland Security	Terrorism and HLS Collection Terrorism Collection Homeland Security Collection
HLS 3200 Emergency Management & Protection	Disaster Planning and Post Disaster Planning and Recovery Full MIT Opencourse
HLS 3500 Infrastructure Protection
HLS 3800 Countering Violent Extremism	GW Program on Extremism C-Span Countering Violent Extremism
HLS 4640 Homeland Security Theory, Policy & Practice	Public Policy Process
HLS 4000 Financial Investigations	Financial War on Terrorism (Slide Share) Fake Bags funding terrorism (TED Talk) U.S. Budgets for Homeland Security (Power Point)
HLS 4200 Transportation Security	Transportation security decision support system for emergency response: A training prototype	Homeland Security and Critical Infrastructure Protection, 2nd edition
CRJU 3020 Introduction to Private Security	Private Security Officer Curriculum Improving Understanding and Collaboration Among First Responders	Routledge Handbook of Private Security Studies
CRJU 3050 Police Community Relations	Police Outreach to the Hispanic/Latino Community Community Policing: Modern Supervision in Today's Law Enforcement Organizations	Community-Oriented Policing and Technological Innovations
CRJU 3500 Legal and Ethical Aspects of Forensic Science	Innocence Project Ethics and Training in Forensic Science	Strengthening Forensic Science in the United States: A Path Forward Ethics in Forensic Science: Professional Standards for the Practice of Criminalistics
CRJU 4025 Drugs, Addictions, Vice and Crime	Drug and Crime Facts Impact of Drug Policy Mark Tyndall: The harm reduction model of drug addiction treatment Drugs, Brains, and Behavior: The Science of Addiction	Trapped in a Vice: The Consequences of Confinement for Young People
CRJU 4200 International Corrections	National Institute of Corrections	Understanding Penal Practice (Available on Amazon for $10.88- Kindle Version)
CRJU 4210/ 4220 Contemporary Problems in Criminal Justice I and II	Contemporary Ethical Issues in Law Women, Crime, and Criminal Justice (Video Lecture) Frontline: Busted- America's War on Marijuana Race, Crime, and Citizenship in American Law Bias Test Exercise
CRJU 4260 Independent Study in Criminal Justice	Race, Crime, and Citizenship in American Law Bias Test Exercise

Department of Criminal Justice OER

Supplemental Resources	OER Type	Name or Title of OER
Writing		About Writing: A Guide Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research How to Read a Scholarly Article Preventing Accidental Plagiarism
Student Success and Critical Thinking		How to Learn Like a Pro!
Diversity and Cultural Competence		Leading with Cultural Intelligence
Race and Crime		Race, Crime, and Citizenship in American Law Bias Test Exercise