Coverage: Journals, magazines, and medical dictionaries on minority health, as well as prevention and self-care on a variety of topics such as pregnancy, HIV, diabetes, women's health, and more.
Coverage: Provides consumer oriented information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Includes searchable full text for over 150 consumer health journals, abstracts and indexing for nearly 175 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.
JSTOR Coverage: Archive of over hundred full text scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Does not include issues from recent volumes usually the last 2-5 years.
Provides scientific, technical and medical (STN) research that offers more than 1,100 journals across sixteen fields of science, including the social sciences.
Archive of over hundred full text scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Does not include issues from recent volumes usually the last 2-5 years.
📚 Extensive Print and Digital Collections
Books and Periodicals: The library houses over 500,000 volumes, including 1,928 periodical subscriptions, and maintains a collection of 140,200 federal and state documents. nccu.edu+1nccu.edu+1
Electronic Resources: Students and faculty have access to more than 400 research databases, encompassing a wide range of disciplines. Notable databases include:
Academic Search Complete: A multidisciplinary database offering thousands of full-text journals.
APA PsycArticles: A definitive source for full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
ScienceDirect: Provides access to a large collection of scientific and technical research articles.
Ebook Central and eBooks on EBSCOhost: Platforms offering extensive collections of electronic books across various subjects. shepard.libguides.nccu.edu
🏛️ Specialized Collections and Archives
Special Collections: The Treasure Room houses rare and archival materials, including anti-slavery pamphlets, 19th-century newspapers, and first editions by prominent African American authors such as Phyllis Wheatley and W.E.B. Du Bois. nccu.edu
Martin Collection: A significant assemblage of approximately 3,000 books and periodicals focusing on African American history and culture, acquired from Reverend Dr. Charles D. Martin. nccu.edu
University Archives: The library preserves NCCU's institutional history through documents, photographs, and artifacts, providing valuable resources for research on the university's legacy and African American history. nccu.edu
🧑🏫 Academic Support and Services
Research Assistance: Librarians offer personalized consultations and instructional sessions to assist with research strategies, database navigation, and citation management. nccu.edu
Interlibrary Loan: Through the ILLiad system, patrons can request materials not available within the NCCU libraries, expanding access to resources beyond the campus. nccu.edu+2nccu.edu+2nccu.edu+2
Collaborative Networks: As a member of the Triangle Research Libraries Network (TRLN), NCCU students and faculty can borrow materials from partner institutions, including Duke University, UNC-Chapel Hill, and NC State University. nccu.edu+2nccu.edu+2nccu.edu+2
🏫 Branch Libraries and Specialized Centers
Curriculum Materials Center (CMC): Located in the H.M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, the CMC provides educational resources such as K-12 textbooks, lesson plans, and teaching aids to support teacher education programs. nccu.edu+1nccu.edu+1
Music Library: Situated in the Edwards Music Building, this library offers a collection of musical scores, recordings, and literature to support the music curriculum. nccu.edu+1nccu.edu+1
School of Library and Information Sciences (SLIS) Library: Located on the third floor of the Shepard Library, the SLIS Library contains over 40,000 volumes and subscribes to numerous journals and databases pertinent to library and information science. nccu.edu+2nccuslis.org+2nccuslis.org+2
The James E. Shepard Memorial Library stands as a cornerstone of academic excellence at NCCU, providing essential resources and services to foster learning, research, and scholarly engagement across the university community.
Sources
You said:
Make this more specific to human services
ChatGPT said:
Absolutely! Here's a more focused version of the resource overview, tailored specifically for Human Services students and faculty at North Carolina Central University (NCCU):
📚 Human Services Resources at the James E. Shepard Memorial Library – NCCU
Welcome to your academic home base for Human Services at the James E. Shepard Memorial Library! Whether you're diving into social work, counseling, public health, or community advocacy, our library is packed with targeted resources to help you succeed.
📖 Books & E-Books
Access a vast print and digital collection on topics like human behavior, social systems, case management, family dynamics, and mental health.
Explore eBook Central and EBSCO eBooks for 24/7 access to textbooks, practitioner guides, and academic titles in human services fields.
Browse specialized collections featuring African American community health and welfare, race and social justice, and urban studies—perfect for NCCU’s mission of “Truth and Service.”
🔍 Scholarly Journals & Articles
Use databases like:
APA PsycArticles for research on mental health, trauma, counseling, and human development.
Sociological Abstracts and Social Work Abstracts for peer-reviewed articles on welfare policy, group work, and marginalized populations.
CINAHL for interdisciplinary topics related to healthcare, substance abuse, and social services.
Academic Search Complete for broad, full-text coverage of human services topics.
📊 Data & Case Studies
Find data for community assessments and program development via databases like:
SAGE Research Methods – excellent for learning how to design, conduct, and analyze social research.
Statista and ProQuest Statistical Insight for access to social statistics, demographic data, and public policy reports.
🏛️ Archives & Special Collections
Tap into NCCU’s Special Collections for unique primary sources on African American social history, civil rights, and health disparities.
The Martin Collection provides powerful insights into African American leadership in social change, perfect for research in culturally competent care and advocacy.
💡 Academic Support for Human Services
Schedule one-on-one consultations with subject librarians who specialize in social sciences and human services.
Attend workshops on research strategies, citation tools, and ethical use of sources.
Utilize the Curriculum Materials Center for educational tools and program planning aids, especially helpful for those pursuing roles in school-based services.
🦅 Whether you're writing a grant proposal, developing a client intervention plan, or preparing for grad school, the Shepard Library has your back. Explore, connect, and make an impact—right here at NCCU!
You said:
list all relevent databases to human services that are located in the James E. Sheparfd Memorial library
ChatGPT said:
The James E. Shepard Memorial Library at North Carolina Central University (NCCU) offers a comprehensive suite of databases tailored to support research and scholarship in Human Services, encompassing fields such as social work, counseling, public health, and community advocacy. These resources are accessible to NCCU students, faculty, and staff, both on-campus and remotely.
🔍 Key Databases for Human Services at NCCU
🧠 Psychology & Mental Health
APA PsycArticles: Provides full-text, peer-reviewed articles in psychology, covering topics like mental health, trauma, and human development.
APA PsycInfo: Offers comprehensive indexing of psychological literature, including journals, books, and dissertations.
🏥 Public Health & Healthcare
CINAHL Complete: Covers nursing and allied health literature, including topics on patient care, health promotion, and public health.
Healthfinder: Provides access to journals, magazines, and medical dictionaries focusing on minority health and public health issues. shepard.libguides.nccu.edu
👥 Social Work & Sociology
Social Work Abstracts: Indexes articles on social work theory, practice, and services.
Sociological Abstracts: Covers international literature in sociology and related disciplines.shepard.libguides.nccu.edu
📊 Research Methods & Statistics
SAGE Research Methods: Offers resources on research design, methodologies, and statistical analysis, beneficial for conducting social science research.
📚 Multidisciplinary Resources
Academic Search Complete: A broad database providing full-text articles across various disciplines, including human services.
ProQuest Central: Aggregates multiple databases, offering access to a wide range of scholarly journals, reports, and dissertations.
📈 Data & Statistics
Statista: Provides statistical data on various topics, including health, society, and demographics, useful for human services research.statelibrary.ncdcr.gov
📖 E-Books & Reference Materials
Ebook Central and EBSCO eBooks: Offer extensive collections of electronic books covering topics in human services, counseling, and public health.
If you need assistance navigating these databases or require research support, the librarians at James E. Shepard Memorial Library are available for consultations. You can contact the Research and Instructional Services Desk at 919-530-6473 or email ask@shepard.nccu.libanswers.com.shepard.libguides.nccu.edu+1nccu.edu+1
Sources
You said:
provide links to all of these data bases to James E. Shepard Memorial Library
Certainly! Here is a curated list of key databases available through the James E. Shepard Memorial Library at North Carolina Central University (NCCU) that are particularly relevant to Human Services disciplines such as social work, counseling, public health, and community advocacy. These resources are accessible to NCCU students, faculty, and staff, both on-campus and remotely.
🧠 Psychology & Mental Health
APA PsycArticles: Provides full-text, peer-reviewed articles in psychology, covering topics like mental health, trauma, and human development.
APA PsycInfo: Offers comprehensive indexing of psychological literature, including journals, books, and dissertations.
🏥 Public Health & Healthcare
CINAHL Complete: Covers nursing and allied health literature, including topics on patient care, health promotion, and public health.
Healthfinder: Provides access to journals, magazines, and medical dictionaries focusing on minority health and public health issues.
👥 Social Work & Sociology
Social Work Abstracts: Indexes articles on social work theory, practice, and services.
Sociological Abstracts: Covers international literature in sociology and related disciplines.
📊 Research Methods & Statistics
SAGE Research Methods: Offers resources on research design, methodologies, and statistical analysis, beneficial for conducting social science research.
📚 Multidisciplinary Resources
Academic Search Complete: A broad database providing full-text articles across various disciplines, including human services.
ProQuest Central: Aggregates multiple databases, offering access to a wide range of scholarly journals, reports, and dissertations.
📈 Data & Statistics
Statista: Provides statistical data on various topics, including health, society, and demographics, useful for human services research.
📖 E-Books & Reference Materials
Ebook Central: Offers an extensive collection of electronic books covering topics in human services, counseling, and public health.
EBSCO eBooks: Provides access to a wide range of e-books across various subjects, including human services.
If you need assistance navigating these databases or require research support, the librarians at James E. Shepard Memorial Library are available for consultations. You can contact the Research and Instructional Services Desk at 919-530-6473 or email ask@shepard.nccu.libanswers.com.
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.
Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.
Created by a multi-specialty editorial team, Social Work Reference Center is a turnkey information resource for social workers and mental health professionals. It covers a big array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work and diversity. Content is organized in a way that makes it easy for users to get answers to questions quickly and easily.
