If visiting is not an option, contacting a librarian is as easy as sending an email, typing up a chat or picking up the phone!
Learn how to avoid plagiarism and cite properly by watching the Plagiarism Tutorial offered by Shepard Library.
EndNote is an online search tool - it provides a simple way to search online bibliographic databases and retrieve the references directly into EndNote. It can also import data files saved from a variety of online services and library databases.
Citation machine helps students and professional researchers to properly credit the information that they use. Its primary goal is to make it so easy for student researchers to cite their information sources, that there is virtually no reason not to.
A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
All circulating books can be checked out at the Circulation Desk on the first floor. NCCU students, faculty and staff must present a NCCU ID to check out library materials. Shepard Library circulation policies are designed to permit prompt and equitable access to library materials. The staff is committed to meeting the research needs of the library's patrons. The Circulation staff will explain specific borrowing guidelines and fine policies.
Shepard Library can borrow materials from other libraries on behalf of its users. If you need a book, journal article or other item which Shepard Library does not have, you can obtain items by placing an online interlibrary loan request. Create an an ILLiad account for yourself by clicking on the link below. Follow the instructions for "first time users."
The TRLN Cooperative Library Lending Program is a lending agreement among the libraries of the Triangle Research Libraries Network (TRLN).
NCCU students, faculty and staff are eligible to borrow materials from these other libraries.
The Cooperative Library Lending Borrowing Program brings together the sixteen participating libraries of the constituent institutions of the University of North Carolina in a cooperative direct borrowing program that constitutes one aspect of a policy of broad sharing of library resources. You can find the list of participating libraries by clicking on the ULAC link above and scrolling down to ULAC Cooperative Library Borrowing Program. One is certainly near you!
The library's liaison program links a member of the library with an academic department or school. The liaison librarians:
Contact information for the Library Liaisons and their subjects can be found here.
Web-based Subject Guides on a wide range of subject areas are designed to help you identify information resources relevant to your research, and provide a first step or additional resources. Click on the above link then select the subject you wish to research.
Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Provides online guidance for MLA and APA style citations, as well as instruction on grammar and mechanics, research, and professional writing
Chicago Manual of Style Online Quick Guide
This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography. It accommodates a variety of sources, including esoteric ones less appropriate to the author-date system.
Learning APA Style
When editors or teachers ask you to write in APA Style, they are referring to the editorial style that many of the social and behavioral sciences have adopted to present written material in the field.
Research and Documentation Online by Diana Hacker and Barbara FisterWith advice for finding, evaluating, and documenting sources, this website covers essential information students need to research assignments in any discipline.