Access to Books in the General Collection - Use the Online Quick Link Catalog to locate books in the James E. Shepard Memorial Library. The majority of our books on literature are in the P section located on the second floor of the library. If any of the books indicate that they are off-site please see the Circulation Staff or Reference Staff to help you obtain it from off-site location.
Harlem Speaks: A Living History of the Harlem Renaissance by 
Laughing Fit To Kill: Black Humor in the Fictions of Slavery by 
Mixing Race, Mixing Culture: Inter-American Literary Dialogues by 
Our Living Manhood: Literature, Black Power, and Masculine Ideology by 
Powers Divne: Spiritual Autobiography and Black Women's Writing by 
Recovered Writers/Recovered Texts: Race, Class, and Gender in Black Women's Literature by 
Spooks, Spies, and Private Eyes: Black Mystery, Crime, and Suspense Fiction by 
The Black Experience in the 20th Century: An Autobiography and Meditation by 
The Impact of Race: Theatre and Culture by Books in the Reference Collection are located on the second floor on the left side of the room as you come up the steps from the second floor. Some of the African American titles are located in Close Reference.
African American Writers by 
Afro-American Writers from the Harlem Renaissance to 1940 by American Ethnic Writers by Black American Writing from the Nadir: The Evolution of a Literary Tradition 1877-1915 by 
Black Literature Criticism: Excerpts from Criticism of the Most Significant Works of Black Authors over the Past 200 Years by Black Plots and Black Characters: A Handbook for Afro-American Literature by 
Contemporary Black American Playwrights and Their Plays: A Biographical Directory and Dramatic Index by 
Early Black American Playwrights and Dramatic Writers: A Biographical Directory and Catalog of Plays, Films, and Broadcasting Scripts by Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance by Harlem Renaissance and Beyond: Literary Biographies of 100 Black Women Writers, 100-1945 by 
Masterplots II: African Amerian Literature Series by 
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature by 
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature by 
Writing African American Women: An Encyclopedia of Literature by and about Women of Color by 