Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hip Hop: Interdisciplinary Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Access World News Research Collection
Find current and archived state, national and international articles on issues, events, people, government and more with over 4,700 full-text newspapers and other news sources.

Art & Architecture Complete
It provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, it offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. It also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.  This database covers a wide variety of pertinent subjects, including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and much more.

Art Index
This database offers indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.  In addition to articles, this database indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Biography Reference Center  
It offers a comprehensive collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases. In addition to keyword searching, users can also locate biographies of interest by browsing more than 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders and many others.

CQ Researcher Online 
The CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world. Each 12,000-word report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Published 44 times a year, CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Credo Reference
Credo covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. It provides online versions of 490+ published reference works from over 70 publishers, including general and specialist dictionaries and encyclopedias.

eBooks on EBSCOhost 
Provides easy access to the full text of more than 10,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Online version of the popular reference tool, Encyclopedia Britannica. There are excellent features within Britannica Online Academic Edition: Encyclopedia Britannica, World Data Analyst , Gateway to the Classics, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus, Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary of Quotations, Full-text Journal and Magazine articles from EBSCO and Proquest Journals, BBC & New York Times daily headlines, The Web’s Best, World Atlas, Advanced search capabilities, Extensive video collection, NEW eBook / Primary Sources, and Britannica’s newest "Compare Countries" feature.

 

Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History
Explores the events, policies, activities, institutions, groups, people, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States. Provides students, researchers, and scholars the opportunity to examine the political evolution of the United States from the 1500s to the present day.

ERIC

ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government  documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) 
It is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives

Films On Demand: Digital Educational Video
It is a collection of streaming educational films, documentaries, and helpful instructional videos.

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia 
Updated annually, this database includes over 25,000 full text records, covering an array of subject areas. Full text of over 25,000 subject entries in the encyclopedia.

Historical Newspapers: Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post
Includes historical backfiles of Christian Science Monitor (1908-1998), New York Times (1851-2008), Wall Street Journal (1889-1994)and Washinton Post (1877-1995).

‚ÄčJSTOR 
Archive of over 100 full text scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Does not include issues from recent volumes usually the last 2-5 years.

Literary Reference Center Plus
It is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges and undergraduate research. 

Literature Resource Center 
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.

NCpedia 
NCpedia provides information about the state, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.

OpenThesis 
OpenThesis is a free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents, coupled with powerful search, organization, and collaboration tools.

Points of View
It is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. It provides more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics covered include: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardized testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, and many more. It contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. Each of the main essays includes links to related full-text articles hand-picked by the editor. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers. Additionally, this database contains the Video Encyclopedia of the 20th Century, providing students with a searchable collection of some of the most important social, political, and cultural moments of the 20th century.


Project Muse 
Provides online access to the full text of the John Hopkins University Press's 40+ scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and Mathematics.

 

Regional Business News  
75 business journals, newspapers, and news wires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

SIRS Knowledge Source 
Full text searchable database of many subjects including the sciences, medicine, business and economics, government, international
studies, African American studies. Coverage: 1989 - present.


Social Science Citation Index  
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50
disciplines. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1956 forward.


Sociological Abstracts  
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.

 

US Newstream  
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.

 

University Press Scholarship Online
Full text accessible to May 2012 titles. If the titles are not from May 2012, users will only be able to view the abstract.University Press Scholarship Online offers 9,700+ titles available in 24 subject areas, from nine leading university presses. Aggregating monograph content from leading university presses, UPSO offers an unparalleled research tool, making disparately published scholarship easily accessible, highly discoverable, and fully cross-searchable via a single online platform

Wall Street Journal 
Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).

Web of Science  
ISI Web of Science consists of five high-quality databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals in all areas of research: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Vernice Faison
Contact:
301 Edwards Music Hall
919-530-6220