Shepard Library offers many resources for research. Use the tabs below for information on locating books, journals, databases and other items relevant to your studies. Shepard Library is your portal to information resources and research assistance!
This is a list of scholarly/peer-reviewed databases, statistical tools, and business news sources. The more scholarly databases are at the top of this list. If you need information about a specific company, Mergent Online is a very helpful resource.
This business resource exceeds all other databases available in terms of its premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Included as part of the comprehensive coverage offered by Business Source Complete are indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals. It is the overwhelmingly superior database for full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Entitles access to the following products: U.S. Company Data, International Company Data, U.S. Company Archives, International Company Archives, U.S. Annual Reports, International Annual Reports, U.S. Earnings Estimates, International Earnings Estimates, U.S. HSD Equity Pricing (20+ Years History), International HSD Equity Pricing (20+ Years History), Unadjusted Equity Pricing, Mergent Equity Research Reports, Factsheets Plus Institutional Holdings, Insider Trades, Expanded Long-Term Debt, Executive Biographies, Competitor Reports, Industry Reports (North America, Asia Pacific, Europe and Latin America).
Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage is a comprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industry trends, corporate activities, and investments. For non-business students, the service includes a Financial Education section with tools for understanding personal finance. S&P NetAdvantage, along with other S&P resources, is a core service used at many of the leading investment firms, corporations, government agencies, and law offices.
A comprehensive reference that has useful information for virtually every investor. In breadth of coverage it is encyclopedic, covering some 1,700 equity issues. Every week, about 135 stocks in seven or eight industries are covered.
SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. With SimplayMap, users can:
Map thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
Develop interactive thematic maps and export high-resolution images to word processing or presentation software.
Select, sort, and compare data across multiple locations and build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet for additional functionality.
Explore historical census data to understand how regions change over time and use estimates and projections to analyze current and future trends.
Make informed personal and business-related decisions.
Combine locations and search for areas based on specific criteria.
Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) publishes 12 biennial business reference handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace. Each handbook includes market assessments and forecasts, sector trends, profiles of market leaders, and statistics. In addition to in-depth analyses, the handbooks include links to hundreds of websites for additional information.
Articles spanning Canadian agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more, including scholarly content.
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
This database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.
General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.